All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: uMPX GPS Setup
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2021 4:15 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
Quote:
Using the commands you provided wasn't really successful - I got it working once at 4800 baud but it didn't seem quite right.
However, when using PuTTY instead, I could get NMEA data fine at 4800 via the COM port. Why might there be a difference?
I could try the pulldown menu if you think its worth adding?
I don't know. What did the output look like, and how did you configure Putty? "Not quite right" is a bit strange, as far as I know it either works or you only see complete nonsense with lots of weird characters.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uMPX GPS Setup
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2021 6:04 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:34 pm
Posts: 207
Quote:
I don't know. What did the output look like, and how did you configure Putty? "Not quite right" is a bit strange, as far as I know it either works or you only see complete nonsense with lots of weird characters.
I've been trying to figure it out. This is what I've found so far:

1. In PuTTY, setting the correct device rate (4800 baud), gives NMEA data. Setting 9600 baud gives strange characters. This seems right, given what you said.
2.For some reason the command-prompt commands don't seem to work. (Have even run as admin.) While the mode command seems to reflect changed port settings, no data showed i.e.:
mode COM3 baud=4800 parity=N data=8 {result = gives output of settings}
type COM3 {result = nothing)
3. I used Powershell and could read NMEA data from the COM port at 4800 baud. (Setting at 9600 didn't work - didn't even show strange characters)

I'm going to send you some screenshots of the non-working command line attempt/s as well as the working PuTTY settings.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uMPX GPS Setup
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2021 12:58 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
I have put a setting in, so it will be there in the next build. Just doing some tests to verify that everything still works, we've had another big 'under the hood' redesign of the parameter code.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited