All times are UTC+02:00

Post subject: Automatic Gain Control
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:44 pm 

Hi Everyone,

I am somewhat new to Stereo Tool, but I really enjoy it so far! The one thing I am having trouble with is the AGC settings - raise band 2 above band 1, keep band 1 at band 2, etc. My goal is to have the sound similar to that of a pop radio station. Can someone help me out with this? Thanks!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:25 am 

I'm also wondering if should use the singleband limiter to achieve this - can someone help me understand how the singleband limiter works? Thanks!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:56 pm 
Site Admin

Welcome,

Every station has a completely different sound, so it's very difficult without having more information to answer your question (that's probably why nobody replied so far).

What do you want? Constant level? Pumping? Bad quality highs :-) ? Distortion? (I'm guessing that you don't want most of these, maybe pumping but definitely not the last 2).

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 12:00 am 

Hi,

Thanks for the heads up - I guess I forgot to mention those details. My goal is the most constant volume possible, but to have it sound like it is hardly compressed at all...if that makes sense! I don't mind some pumping, but I can do without poor quality highs and distortion :) Right now I have very strict settings everywhere, but I am still confused as to the purpose and function of the 3-band AGC and singleband limiter, and if either or both of these will help me acheive the sound I am looking for. Thanks!

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:07 am 
Site Admin

Ok, so you _don't_ want to sound like most radio stations :D . Because most of them sound really crappy.