All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 8:26 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2022 8:10 pm
Posts: 2
Hi there, :)

I use RadioBoss as broadcasting software for my internet radio station and Stereo Tool as processing plugin. I play pop/rock music and have news once every hour. I have the basic and the declipper licence and have found good presets which I tweaked to my liking. Everything is fine - except for speech.

When listened to at higher volume my radio programm "screams" the spoken word news and some jingles also. The spoken word is processed too loud. My observation with professional radio stations is that speech is always a little bit lower (!) than pop/rock music, so that the enouncement of a song is lower in volume than the song itself. Same goes for news programs. Music is a little bit louder than speech, isn't it?

Is there a way to tell Stereo Tool to treat speech different than music AGC-wise? Or maybe compression-wise? Or can I define an ID3 tag that Stereo Tool reads to lower the volume of that tag? I am not sure whether a "Speech detection" licence could help with this loudness related problem.

Any help much appreciated. Thank you!

Yours, Heinzruhm


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 10:41 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3989
First try to use standalone ST. Also apparently that preset is not so good then. Classic thing, you always think you tuned everything, all nice, and then some track badly surprise you, or in your case speech. Probably contribute that jingles and pre-recorded speech is overprocessed, there you cannot do much but to try to 'teach' the people how to record things. Good processing can handle some of it but never fully. There is speech section in ST, but i personally never use it once i tried it.

Send me your preset, if you want, i'll check it, also i can also send you to test my last preset meanwhile.

_________________
control point


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2022 1:05 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2022 8:10 pm
Posts: 2
Hey Bojcha,
thank you so much for answering me. I am honoured to get an answer of one ofe the geniuses of Stereo Toll, great :) You know what? I figured out that the problem might not be within Stereo Tool, but within my broadcasting software Radioboss. I found out that there I can use different categories such as "News" or "Jingles" and assign different amplification in dB. I think I assigned wrong amplification values. After a little tweaking I managed to get the levels right now. Thus Stereo Tool can work as it should - even as plugin -, and the sound is wonderful.
Thanks again for your offer of help. Nice to know that this forum (in which I am a newbie) is dedicated to really help! All the best! Bye...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited