All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:08 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:12 am
Posts: 19
Hello,

I would like to run the Command Line version of StereoTool, accept a stdin of a live feed (obtained from another app, let's say FFmpeg for the purposes of this discussion), and use some of the advanced output options in StereoTool (primarily MicroMPX Encoder and Streaming Server Output). Maybe even the web server would be useful to enable for a bit of monitoring/control, but this isn't essential.

Is this possible? Preferably I'd like to do so on Linux, but Windows could be an option too.

Thanks,
Anthony.

_________________
Anthony Eden
https://mediarealm.com.au/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 7:50 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:12 am
Posts: 19
Just wondering if anyone has some thoughts on this?

_________________
Anthony Eden
https://mediarealm.com.au/


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2020 2:09 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:19 am
Posts: 99
Why would you want to do this through stdin?
I'd recommend to process using the GUI and feed the audio via JACK.
Is ffplay capable of playing into jack? If not, use a simple ALSA-Loop Device and play into it using aplay.

When you have it up and running with the GUI, you can adjust settings on the fly and patch the processed signal to wherever you want, including an icecast or vban stream.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 11:48 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:12 am
Posts: 19
I'm looking for a way to do this so I can run lots of instances in parallel. Trying to pass it through the OS audio layers adds a bit of complexity I could avoid if I was able do this via the CLI.

I was looking for alternative approaches, and discovered uMPX and Streaming outputs aren't available in the VST version either?

_________________
Anthony Eden
https://mediarealm.com.au/


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 10:03 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10195
The VST version has both (on Windows). The command line version doesn't - it might be a useful thing to add indeed.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited