All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:03 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 11259
Here's a short tutorial describing how you can create a translation file, and how you can update it for newer versions of Stereo Tool. (Updated May 2024 for the new GUI).

Create a new translation file
  • First of all, to be as complete as possible, you should always create a translation file with the stand alone version of Stereo Tool, because many settings aren't available in plugin versions. So, open the stand alone version of Stereo Tool.
  • Go to Application settings - Preferences - Developer and debugging settings - Developer and debugging settings, and click on 'Export selected language to file "Export.stl"'
    [/quote]

    At this point, a file Export.stl has been created. If Stereo Tool has write access in its 'current directory' (usually the directory that contains the executable), it's placed there, otherwise it's placed in the user settings directory (usually C:\Users\username\ ).
    • Rename this file! If you press the export button again it will be overwritten. Also, if it's not placed in the same directory as the Stereo Tool executable, move or copy it there, otherwise Stereo Tool won't load it.
    • If you restart Stereo Tool you should find the new language file as an option under 'Languages'.
    • Open the file and edit it. The text before the '=' character is the original text (which is used for lookups), the text after it is the translation.
    • Finally, if you're happy, upload the file to this forum section!
    Update a translation file
    Say you made a translation for version 7.40 and want to upgrade it to contain all the texts for version 10.30. Here's how to do that:
    • Load the text file in Stereo Tool
    • Export it the same way as described above. If you press the Export button with a different language loaded, it will export a file for that language. All the newly added lines in version 10.30 will also be available. Texts that have been removed are also gone.
    Leave a translation empty to keep the original (English) text. If the translation happens to be the same as the original, it's good practice to copy the original text so you can clearly see which lines have not yet been translated.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 5:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:20 pm
Posts: 211
I am having problems.. I think my language (Greek) is not supported..
Attachment:
stprob.png
stprob.png [ 155.12 KiB | Viewed 25786 times ]

_________________
Very proud user of Stereo Tool since 2010. Thanks Hans.

My radio station
http://amradio.ddns.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 7:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 4200
try..
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 4:06 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:20 pm
Posts: 211
Thank you very much but it does notwork tried UTF-8 , Windows-1253 and ISO. But nothing now i have other funky looking characters

_________________
Very proud user of Stereo Tool since 2010. Thanks Hans.

My radio station
http://amradio.ddns.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 6:08 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 11259
You're right - some Greek characters are supported (like ß, mu - basically those that are in the standard 8-bit ASCII set), but not the others yet.......
I want to add them - but not now (just way too busy with other things).


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:20 pm
Posts: 211
Ok Hans. Thats why it didn't work at all.. If you only support ascii the you only suport english characters. If you are albe to switch to unicode some time in the future please inform me.

I will start translating and when ST is ready for greek i will post it here (or do you want me to post the file for testing?)

Thank You Very Much Hans And Bojcha

Kostas

_________________
Very proud user of Stereo Tool since 2010. Thanks Hans.

My radio station
http://amradio.ddns.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:46 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 11259
Well I support Unicode - the thing is that I have to add bitmaps for non-ASCII8 characters manually.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:03 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:20 pm
Posts: 211
Ok Hans. I don't know alot about character sets but the Greek language is supported by UTF-8. Maybe i am wrong....

BTW do you want the translation for testing when i finish with it????

_________________
Very proud user of Stereo Tool since 2010. Thanks Hans.

My radio station
http://amradio.ddns.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:31 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 11259
That's not the issue - I don't use the standard fonts in my software and I have to explicitly start supporting it. Once it works you could send it to me but I won't be able to read it (well ok, I can read Greek, learned ancient Greek in school, but I just won't understand what I'm reading).


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:58 am
Posts: 17
Location: Prague, CZ
What about support of Czech language and its special characters like "áčďěéíňóřšťúůýž"? I would like to try to start the translation, but if these characters aren't displayable, it would be probably a waste of time..


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited