Stereo Tool
https://forums.stereotool.com/

using linux
https://forums.stereotool.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5642
Page 1 of 2

Author:  jazler [ Tue Aug 12, 2014 2:39 pm ]
Post subject:  using linux

Hi there i need a simple step by step on how to set up stereo tool stand alone version and run it with jack audio

any help are welcome

Author:  hvz [ Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

I don't have my Linux system with me right now so I have to try to do this based on memory.

Most importantly, Jack must be running *before* you start Stereo Tool. I still have to fix that.

So, if you want to run sound card input to output, this is what you do:

Installation

1. Install Jack. Assuming Ubuntu that would go like this:
% sudo apt-get install jackd2

2. Download Stereo Tool and chmod it to 755 so you can run it:
% chmod 755 stereo_tool_gui

Running it

3. Start Jack:
% sudo jackd &

4. Start Stereo Tool.
% ./stereo_tool_gui

5. In Stereo Tool, select the Jack inputs and outputs and it should work. You have to set the sample rate in Jack if I recall correctly, so if you want to use it for FM for example you have to set 176.4 or 192 kHz sample rate in the Jack GUI - before starting Stereo Tool.

Author:  jazler [ Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

Quote:
I don't have my Linux system with me right now so I have to try to do this based on memory.

Most importantly, Jack must be running *before* you start Stereo Tool. I still have to fix that.

So, if you want to run sound card input to output, this is what you do:

Installation

1. Install Jack. Assuming Ubuntu that would go like this:
% sudo apt-get install jackd2

2. Download Stereo Tool and chmod it to 755 so you can run it:
% chmod 755 stereo_tool_gui

Running it

3. Start Jack:
% sudo jackd &

4. Start Stereo Tool.
% ./stereo_tool_gui

5. In Stereo Tool, select the Jack inputs and outputs and it should work. You have to set the sample rate in Jack if I recall correctly, so if you want to use it for FM for example you have to set 176.4 or 192 kHz sample rate in the Jack GUI - before starting Stereo Tool.

Thanks for your answer

one more thing i cannot make it run on linux mint 17 which is based on the new ubuntu 13.04

i did make it run but not anymore i am getting some error

(jack_client_new: deprecated
SA Stereo Tool 7.50 (for Linux with Jack) (C) Hans van Zutphen, 2001-2014
Segmentation fault)

when i try to run it now

by the way i am running stereo tool in wine now and that is working well at least

Author:  hvz [ Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

O. That's very bad. This indicates a bug in my software!

Author:  technika [ Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

I'm getting this "Segmentation fault (core dumped)" too.

We bought this tool to test audio streaming with VLC. While in Windows sometimes we get jerky sound, we tried to launch this under Ubuntu with StereoTools standalone version. Ubuntu 14.10 Server x86 and Ubuntu 13.04 Desktop x86 were tested.

At first we got problems with RME HDSP 9632 drivers. alsa-utils, alsa-firmware-loaders and alsa-tools-gui packages fixed that. We were able launch HDSPmixer from launchpad.
Jack was installed with sudo apt-get installjackd2. P.S. there is an error on your main daownload page were code is listed without "install". Jack was started with jack_control start.
Now ./stereo_tool_gui shows no errors wich is meaning Jack is detected runing but now we get:

jack_client_new: deprecated
SA Stereo Tool 7.60 (for Linux with Jack) (C) Hans van Zutphen, 2001-2014
Segmentation fault (core dumped)


If we run sudo ./stereo_tool_gui we get no error:

jack_client_new: deprecated
SA Stereo Tool 7.60 (for Linux with Jack) (C) Hans van Zutphen, 2001-2014


but nothing happens after. The process is not representet in system monitor too.

What is causing this problem and when it could be solved?

Author:  hvz [ Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

Based on these reports there seems to be a problem with Ubuntu 13 and 14 32 bit. (I got more reports from people that version 7.60 doesn't work in Ubuntu 13 and 14, but none for other distributions. And I've built it in Ubuntu 10 (old version, for compatibility), it runs fine there too.

I will create a virtual machine with Ubuntu 14 to see if I can reproduce it here.

I've updated the sudo apt-get install in the download page, will be included in the next website update.

Author:  Wunjo [ Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

Hi Hans,

7.60 doesn't work on Xubuntu 12.04 lts ( 32bits, no VM) either,
previous versions did. ( and do)

*edit typo in versionnumber (I' m a bit dyscalculatist)

Author:  hvz [ Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

Some big code rewrite in the Linux version: We're no longer using wxWidgets. I've tested it on 2 systems so far (and it ran fine on both). But I'd like more feedback, so here we go:

Linux 32 bit stand alone: http://www.stereotool.com/download/ster ... ETA785-079

(Note: This is the 32 bit build, I also have a 64 bit version but I forgot to build it, will do that later).

Author:  Jorn [ Thu Jun 16, 2016 10:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

Quote:
Some big code rewrite in the Linux version: We're no longer using wxWidgets. I've tested it on 2 systems so far (and it ran fine on both). But I'd like more feedback, so here we go:

Linux 32 bit stand alone: http://www.stereotool.com/download/ster ... ETA785-079

(Note: This is the 32 bit build, I also have a 64 bit version but I forgot to build it, will do that later).
Does this also apply for the Raspberry PI version?

Author:  gjbbgu [ Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using linux

Quote:
(Note: This is the 32 bit build, I also have a 64 bit version but I forgot to build it, will do that later).
Will test with 64-bit version.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC+02:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/