All times are UTC+02:00

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:31 pm 

I have to re-up this whole DSP versus VST topic (and the differences).
Though now it seems as if it is even more a topic about realtime listening versus file rendering.

I have concentrated on the VST version and there still is something wrong:

Having a VST version it means that it is intended to be used most of the time for file rendering (so not in realtime like SA for broadcasting).

And everybody that uses a VST plugin expects that WYHIWYG.
The problem is:
There are differences whether you use the VST plugin in realtime - for example with Wavelabs FX rack - or listen to the rendered file (even without AGC usage).
So with hundreds of different VST plugins (even AGC type) I have tried over the years WYHIWYG works.
The only exception is Stereo Tool.
And I cannot understand why (maybe I am too stupid ?).

Sorry, I am not an expert (like Hans and others), but from my naive point of view I would expect, that there must be some kind of automatic detection/compensation whether a plugin is used in realtime or for file rendering ?
So that even AGC should work.
I cannot believe that any calculation inside a plugin's core is based on realtime values.
It must work with samples (=counting samples), or not ?
The only problem:
The plugin must know what the sampling rate is and then apply this knowledge to its internal sample counting for processing (e.g. to decide if 44100 samples are a second or 192000 samples are a second, etc.).

Sorry, for my naive words (so feel free to laugh).
But I hope it is clear what I wanted to say.

The point is (most obvious while listening to relative quiet intros):
Used for realtime listening the VST version applies less gain than the DSP version.
But when I compare the VST and the DSP version and their rendered output files, it is the other way round: