All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 469 posts ]  Go to page Previous 140 41 42 43 4447 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 11:33 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10846
Quote:
Quote:

FM Transmitter > Audio settings - Expand > Remove audio above

So funny..
Pre-emphasis is right there, but you need to expand for pilot, even there is space for it right there.
Thanks Bojcha! Thought it had to be in the FM section. Sanity restored after a long work week! :D

Yes, I wonder when there is space available like Pilot and RDS why you would not show it outright rather than clicking it make it visible, especially if they are "core settings".

Ross
The idea here was to only show settings if they are things that normal users would need to change. Typically, we thought that a user would select a preset, tweak some of the high level settings a bit to change the sound, enable the required FM settings and be done with it. Preemphasis is definitely something that they would need to set based on their location. But the FM lowpass frequency doesn't seeem to be something that they would touch - in fact, in many other processors there's not even a setting for it. For example in the Omnia.9 and 9sg which uses our FM stage, it's set to 16.4 kHz and you cannot change that.

So, since multiple people have run into this: Can you explain why an average user would need this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 12:13 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10846
BETA007 is posted; main difference is that the meters in the overview page are now in the order that the processing is happening, and things that are disabled are hidden. We'll look into the other GUI-related remarks of the last few days soon.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 6:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:44 pm
Posts: 551
Location: Texas, USA
Quote:
things that are disabled are hidden
I'm sorta torn on this aspect. I sorta liked having the shortcut aspect of the disabled items in the Meters overview. Meaning, I liked being able to go right to Stereo Image by clicking the greyed-out phase delay meter. Would it be possible to unhide these with the CTRL SHIFT + key combo or something?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 7:33 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:11 pm
Posts: 15
Location: England, UK
Quote:
BETA007 is posted; main difference is that the meters in the overview page are now in the order that the processing is happening, and things that are disabled are hidden. We'll look into the other GUI-related remarks of the last few days soon.
Just a quick post to say 'great work' on the meters overview screen.

I'm loving the new UI and being able to have all the 'active' meters
shown on one screen without having to jump around the different
screens to be able to see them individually is a bonus.

All the best
Mark

_________________
Station host of Demoscene Radio station:
'CGM UKScene Radio'
www.lmp.d2g.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 8:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:44 pm
Posts: 551
Location: Texas, USA
Some folks in the Discord were interested in a way to hide the left navigation bar in the meter overview page. Or perhaps a way to "pop out" the meters into its own display -- but I suppose just the fullscreen metering of the new GUI and a browser with the web interface could handle this.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 9:34 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10846
Quote:
Quote:
things that are disabled are hidden
I'm sorta torn on this aspect. I sorta liked having the shortcut aspect of the disabled items in the Meters overview. Meaning, I liked being able to go right to Stereo Image by clicking the greyed-out phase delay meter. Would it be possible to unhide these with the CTRL SHIFT + key combo or something?
I was thinking the same thing, we'll figure something out. I changed the code yesterday to hide everything because *most* things were already hidden and a few are not, which was inconsistent. But I agree that it should be possible to see everything - including what's disabled, even if just to realize that you forgot to enable it - and to be able to go there. Tom mentioned an idea to add a small placeholder for disabled things yesterday.
Quote:
Some folks in the Discord were interested in a way to hide the left navigation bar in the meter overview page. Or perhaps a way to "pop out" the meters into its own display -- but I suppose just the fullscreen metering of the new GUI and a browser with the web interface could handle this.
Yes, I was thinking the same thing when I was playing with it yesterday. It would make sense to add that. ("the Discord"??)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 9:45 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:44 pm
Posts: 551
Location: Texas, USA
Quote:
("the Discord"??)
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=31817&p=71691

It just kinda happened as a place to toss around ideas and stuff. If you wanted to do something more official, I'm sure the dudes wouldn't mind.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 8:35 am 

Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:16 am
Posts: 102
Location: Australia
Quote:
The idea here was to only show settings if they are things that normal users would need to change. Typically, we thought that a user would select a preset, tweak some of the high level settings a bit to change the sound, enable the required FM settings and be done with it. Preemphasis is definitely something that they would need to set based on their location. But the FM lowpass frequency doesn't seeem to be something that they would touch - in fact, in many other processors there's not even a setting for it. For example in the Omnia.9 and 9sg which uses our FM stage, it's set to 16.4 kHz and you cannot change that.

So, since multiple people have run into this: Can you explain why an average user would need this?
I can fully understand trying to make a less cluttered interface, but where a single function that is typically used to adjust levels to compensate different environments then I
would be asking if hiding it is worth the effort.

Coming from the old interface of moving between basic, advanced and tweaker, I guess I miss having items I would regularly have exposed now being hidden.

Would be nice if you could "pin open" these so when you go back to the page, they are already open until you "unpin" them.

Ross


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2022 4:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:38 am
Posts: 79
Quote:
Coming from the old interface of moving between basic, advanced and tweaker, I guess I miss having items I would regularly have exposed now being hidden.
Use Ctrl+Shift+'+' to unfold everything (and Ctrl+Shift+'-' to fold it back up)
Quote:
So, since multiple people have run into this: Can you explain why an average user would need this?
I think what Hans meant is, could you explain why an average user would want to fiddle with the FM lowpass frequency?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 9:09 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10846
BETA011 is posted, now with preliminary Mac support (some things do not yet work, such as typing).


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 469 posts ]  Go to page Previous 140 41 42 43 4447 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited