All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 192 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 720 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 5:00 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
Quote:
Minor:
In Auto EQ -> menu: Sound and Silence are broken.
Right side overrides menu on the left.
Whoops, solved.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 5:01 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
Quote:
Hi.
Can you change equalizer volume limits from +-12 to +- 30 db ?
For broadcasting it may doenst have sense but for listening it has
You can edit the settings files or use a few Parametric sliders with the same value. For normal usage, this range is too big and would make the "normal" range much harder to see and edit. But you can set the settings in the .sts or .ini file outside of the ranges that the GUI is limited to.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 5:03 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
Quote:
Would it be possible to improve the declipper functionality with AI? I remember an interview where you said it would take like a year to declip one second of audio using the non-heuristical code back in the day. Would it be possible to train an AI model to more efficiently optimize the algorithm?

Is the PhoneBooster restoration effective on music? Does it restore and maintain the bottom end of the spectrum? Or is True Bass the best algorithm for sub-bass restoration?
PhoneBooster does that very well - on speech. On music it does almost nothing, since it's trained on speech only. So, use True Bass instead.

Declipper: Not really, see what I wrote above. AI works pretty well but I think the declipper currently outperforms what an AI can do - at least with our knowledge about AI's.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 5:12 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
Quote:
Not sure if this has already been reported: 'Also Lows' in advanced clipper seems to be inoperative. When toggling the setting, I see no change in the brown bass clipper reference level metering (as was the case in versions prior to 9.80) and hear no difference in the audio.

Currently running version 9.83.

Brian
Also Lows should not have any noticeable effect. What do you hear/see on versions before 9.70? I just did a quick check and I see not difference, but my subwoofer kinda blew up (extremely loud noise, the ceiling kept cracking for minutes afterwards, and the smell of burning electronics) before the holidays so I can't really check the bass now.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 5:34 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
Quote:
excellent work on "de-hummer".
it works better than it did before.
but why did you take away the "Continuous Learning" ability ?
it was useful in my case for certain content.
Nothing really changed in it... I didn't realize that anyone would be using Continuous Learning (I added that for a specific customer and figured I could disable it for everyone else - well I guess I was wrong). So it's back. But not for SST and STXtreme.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2022 1:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 3:16 pm
Posts: 168
Quote:
Quote:
excellent work on "de-hummer".
it works better than it did before.
but why did you take away the "Continuous Learning" ability ?
it was useful in my case for certain content.
Nothing really changed in it... I didn't realize that anyone would be using Continuous Learning (I added that for a specific customer and figured I could disable it for everyone else - well I guess I was wrong). So it's back. But not for SST and STXtreme.
continuous learning is a neat feature to use on vocal interview videos with vehicle horns that are intermittent, it also helps reduce background noise (think noisy city like New York City).
it would be great if there was a method to attach a VST plugin to Stereo Tool at the beginning of the sound chain, in order to utilize various VST plugins.
happy new year.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2022 4:11 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
Quote:
Hi.

Enabling Sub Bass Boost seems to make the overall audio louder (regardless of the boost settings) if either multiband is enabled at the same time. It's a good +3 or +4 dB. Should I post my preset or send it via PM? It appears to have something to do with the density settings of the multibands and quick-adjust? I don't know enough to narrow it down further. 32bit VST Beta 14.

I'm not sure when this started as I'm just recently trying to learn to use the compressors better.
Solved. This must have been there for years. It was caused by a (likely very rare) combination of things:
- Only the 2 MB's were used
- Both had a massive negative (-24 dB) density drive.
- Feedback mode was used without FB^2 (low ratios would have given the same issue though).

In one cleanup filter we forgot to compensate for the fact that Density sliders are internally compensated for the compressor ratios. There's a place where we calculate the maximum output level based on the input, and without that compensation, the maximum output level was far too low.

I hope this fix won't break any existing presets. If it does, those presets were actually broken before (because the calculated output level would be far too low), and would probably have sounded pretty bad.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2022 4:21 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
BETA015 is posted. It doesn't yet solve this last issue (which also wasn't new) but everything else that was reported in this thread should be fixed now.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2022 7:23 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:39 pm
Posts: 8
Quote:
BETA015 is posted. It doesn't yet solve this last issue (which also wasn't new) but everything else that was reported in this thread should be fixed now.
I have problem with web interface. Buttons are not working at all and no meters like eq graph and vu. Browser FF last or edge(chrome).
At the /modern/ page falling into infinity loading.
But nobody posted about it so what do i wrong ?
x86


Attachments:
st.png
st.png [ 27.45 KiB | Viewed 614 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2022 10:23 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10453
Quote:
Quote:
BETA015 is posted. It doesn't yet solve this last issue (which also wasn't new) but everything else that was reported in this thread should be fixed now.
I have problem with web interface. Buttons are not working at all and no meters like eq graph and vu. Browser FF last or edge(chrome).
At the /modern/ page falling into infinity loading.
But nobody posted about it so what do i wrong ?
x86
Weird. I see here that *drawing* the EQ in the old web interface fails. But aside from that everything works, in both the old one and in /modern/ (in your screenshot it's not even visible).

Which exact version of Stereo Tool are you using?

Can you press F12 in the browser, then go to Console, and show what it says there (mainly if there are any errors, they would be displayed in red).


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 192 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 720 Next

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited