All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 101 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 10 11 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:31 pm
Posts: 72
Location: FRANCE
hello Hans,

I noticed a bug in the advanced limiter menu and distortion protection sub-menu, in the bass window, dashes are no longer displayed, and the very low bass values remain at zero.

sorry for the approximate English :roll:


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:16 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:46 pm
Posts: 265
A few posts above I had described a problem that I currently have with the 4-band AGC. Now I noticed something, but rather accidentally. I had the "Sudden drop" setting active with default settings. After I deactivated this option, the results were much more pleasant and also the overacting has largely disappeared.

I wanted to read up on this option in the manual, but unfortunately couldn't find anything about it. What should the option do, what exactly does the threshold value refer to? I have tried several values, but could hardly notice any improvement when activating the option. Only a deactivation has produced a better result for me. Could someone please explain this option and the meaning behind it? Many thanks in advance!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:00 am 

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:31 am
Posts: 42
First of all, thanks Hans for always working on StereoTool and improving it. I use it for a neighborhood FM signal and it sounds perfect. http://us1.internet-radio.com:8115/

Also, who agrees with me that StereoTool needs an auto-updater? It would be kind of cool, as I don't remember to check the website all the time.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 6:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:44 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Texas, USA
Quote:
Also, who agrees with me that StereoTool needs an auto-updater? It would be kind of cool, as I don't remember to check the website all the time.
If not an integrated updater, then perhaps something that can at least check as frequently as every six hours and notify the user that an update is available on the site? Maybe same for betas.

I keep an eye on this subforum for releases, but sometimes they don't always get posted here. So it would be nice to have the app or plugin have a warning-like popup, or a nice icon in the new UI.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:28 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:25 am
Posts: 93
I would not care to have the processor auto-update. With respect to all involved, intended changes sometimes cause unintended consequences. I usually run a new update at a (very) close location before migrating it out to my clients, some of whom are hours away by car.

I suppose an email list would serve my purposes, but it really isn't that hard to log in here from time to time and see what the new updates have. Some don't apply to me, so I wait until they do.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 4:21 pm 

Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 6:59 pm
Posts: 24
Hans, this may be a little off-topic but is there gonna be a new solution for more bass in stereotool? I find hardware processors beating out stereotool in having more bass.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:22 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:02 pm
Posts: 92
Quote:
Hans, this may be a little off-topic but is there gonna be a new solution for more bass in stereotool? I find hardware processors beating out stereotool in having more bass.
I mean:
1. AGC with band separation
2. Immersive Bass
3. Bass EQ
4. True Bass
5. Sub Bass Boost

Sorry mate, but it seems you're having trouble tweaking it, if other processors are beating ST...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:48 pm 

Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 6:59 pm
Posts: 24
Quote:
Quote:
Hans, this may be a little off-topic but is there gonna be a new solution for more bass in stereotool? I find hardware processors beating out stereotool in having more bass.
I mean:
1. AGC with band separation
2. Immersive Bass
3. Bass EQ
4. True Bass
5. Sub Bass Boost

Sorry mate, but it seems you're having trouble tweaking it, if other processors are beating ST...

So is that how I should setup stereotool?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 5:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:44 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Texas, USA
Quote:
So is that how I should setup stereotool?
What kind of bass are you missing? If upper harmonics, try Immersive Bass. If lower harmonics try True Bass. If True Bass still isn't enough sub-bass, try the Sub Bass Boost (able to be seen on the left once you select the True Bass screen). If it's just that the bass doesn't seem as high relative to the highs, try adjusting the bass band to be relatively higher than the main band in the AGC. Or you can try the equalizer and draw in the bass levels you think you should be getting.

Then there's the Bass Clipper, which I don't really know how to work; nor do I know if it's part of the no-cost package, or requires the basic license.

A little more input as to KIND of bass that is lacking could help us figure out why you're not getting as much bass as you want.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:17 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 10102
Quote:
Hans, this may be a little off-topic but is there gonna be a new solution for more bass in stereotool? I find hardware processors beating out stereotool in having more bass.
If you're the same Antonio who has asked questions via WhatsApp, the problem is really your transmitter. Have you tested those hardware processors with your transmitter?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 101 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 10 11 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited