Stereo Tool
https://forums.stereotool.com/

StudioOne HD
https://forums.stereotool.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=26400
Page 1 of 5

Author:  Bojcha [ Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:48 pm ]
Post subject:  StudioOne HD

StudioOne HD
Attachment:
StudioOne_v00.03_HD.sts [350.18 KiB]
Downloaded 857 times

Update:
Attachment:
StudioOne_v00.14_HD.sts [350.42 KiB]
Downloaded 1239 times

StudioOne_v01.21_HD.sts

Author:  timmywa [ Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

As usual, it sounds fantastic... Couple questions..

Why 39Hz for HPF? Seems a bit high for full bass reproduction.

Why not enable "Optimize audio for lossy compression (clean), under Limiting & Clipping?

Also, I noticed Declipper had neither Input is analog or resampled, or input can be compressed enabled. I've seen both or at least "compressed" being on in most presets.

Author:  Bojcha [ Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

Quote:
As usual, it sounds fantastic... Couple questions..

Why 39Hz for HPF? Seems a bit high for full bass reproduction.
Why not enable "Optimize audio for lossy compression (clean), under Limiting & Clipping?
Also, I noticed Declipper had neither Input is analog or resampled, or input can be compressed enabled. I've seen both or at least "compressed" being on in most presets.
- 39Hz, you need to read explenation from Hans about new HPF. I didn't understand it actually at all. So, 39 it's around 29-31 really. Atleast it acts like it's before agc and mb.
- Preset already uses limiter not clipper. Also that feature is not good.. it messes final bass peek level and other things. (partially fixed, still not quite ok)
- Well, i always count for perfect input, even in full analog chain. That's why we have input tilt correction (input section) But it can be ON for sure.

Author:  beneyto [ Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

0.03 Very nice sound!!!

Author:  seanbts [ Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

Hi Bojcha,

Sounds very good, 2 questions for you - How come you use the legacy AGC? And what would be the best way to make this work for FM? Add some clipping, change the LPF to 15khz?

Many Thanks

Author:  Bojcha [ Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

Quote:
Hi Bojcha,
Sounds very good, 2 questions for you - How come you use the legacy AGC? And what would be the best way to make this work for FM? Add some clipping, change the LPF to 15khz?
Many Thanks
Enable FM, rise clipper till you happy.

Author:  DJuan [ Wed Jul 24, 2019 12:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

Hi Bojcha, first of all congratulate you on this excellent preset.
I was using the download/file.php?id=2929, now I see yours sounds much clearer (less artificial).
I was used to the previous one but I notice that it has a little more gain than yours.
How could you implement a little more overall gain without losing quality?

EDIT:
I tried increasing the pre amplifier gain to + 15.31dB (583.0%).
Image
That's how I hear it great, but I want your opinion or another way to achieve this goal.

Author:  Bojcha [ Wed Jul 24, 2019 1:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

Rising pre-amplifier will do exactly nothing with audio, only will put more treshold to AGC. To boost loudness a bit go to MB2 and rise MB output level. It's curently at -1.25dB. If you need more, then start to rise drive in MB2.

btw: Pre-Amplifier is for a reason on -6dB. All comming filters can be heard alone (not all yet) with headroom. (hear button). In next versions all filters will be fixed levels.
If you need more threshold in AGC best would be to add it with AGC Drive.

Author:  DJuan [ Wed Jul 24, 2019 1:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

Perfect! Thank you so much!
The best preset I've tried

Author:  timmywa [ Wed Jul 24, 2019 3:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: StudioOne HD

Bochja, can you please explain how you setup gating on this preset? I have all my songs replay gained at RG2 levels, which I think are -18dB. Then I have the input pumped a bit on the DSP model of Stereotool at +5db. There are still some songs that have soft intros that seem to stay under the gate for a bit, which doesn't sound super great after a loud cold ending or some station imaging. What is your ideal input level for this preset? Perhaps my idea of gating isn't correct or needs some improvement.

I understand gating to be a minimum level to which the AGC will reach to bring audio up. If the gating is set to -15dB and my low intro is at -20dB, the AGC won't touch it until the audio gets up to -15dB. Is that correct?

Also, I've heard there's some ability that ST has to use "smart gating", where it monitors the audio and adjusts gating automagically. Maybe that was something else, or somewhere else...

Thanks for the help!

Page 1 of 5 All times are UTC+02:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/