All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Linux, Jack, Liquidsoap
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 10:09 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:31 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,

I'm running StereoTool as the commandline tool to process a liquidsoap source, and it's not that easy to achieve nicely... We talked about it by email, this is meant as a follow-up, and a request for others to join in ;)

I asked about having StereoTool command line running like the GUI mode, through JACKD, but without the GUI. Or the GUI to have a NOGUI mode, something like that. Would that be interesting? Possible? ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 12:11 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:29 pm
Posts: 35
Location: San Francisco, CA
I suggested something about that before (regarding Liquidsoap + StereoTool). Liquidsoap is great but the built-in audio processing is terrible (sky/nrj functions are just terrible, was the guy deaf?)

Why do you need Jack? Liquidsoap accepts pipes and so does StereoTool. One easy solution would be to integrate them nicely without having to play with named pipes. I agree with you though, it's not easy to integrate Liquidsoap + StereoTool.

I think it's something that should also be submitted to the Liquidsoap GitHub repository (issue/pull request?). Creating a new liquidsoap function would work fine (plugin.stereotool within Source / Sound Processing). In the end, it's just a wrap around StereoTool. I mean, it shouldn't be too hard to implement since StereoTool command-line tool accepts pipes as input/output.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:57 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:31 pm
Posts: 6
The issue with liq is that it has no concept of a "processor", it can decode from a pipe, encode to a pipe, but not easily send to a pipe and get data back. Or at least, so I see it. I've asked about that on their mailing-list. Because of this, I need to use an external encoder, but then must compress directly on the pipe, and thus can not use other encoders afterwards in liq... With jackd, I can output to it, let ST do its magic, and input back in liq from jackd.

btw, there are ways to do better than the provided functions in liq, see this: https://gist.github.com/130db/6001343 but this is obviously offtopic
And this you can leverage ladspa, there are many things you can achieve. But in my experience, nothing as easily tunable & efficient as what ST does.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 12:55 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:29 pm
Posts: 35
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
but not easily send to a pipe and get data back.
That was my understanding as well. An ideal solution would be that we can use pipes "within" Liquidsoap. It would be ideal if we can use them the same way we use audio processing functions. However, I don't think jackd is an elegant solution, it would require adding another layer and depends on Jack.
Quote:
But in my experience, nothing as easily tunable & efficient as what ST does.
Yeah. I tried to make a processing chain using ladspa plugin with Liquidsoap. It does sound better than the built-in functions but it's nowhere as close as StereoTool.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 11:05 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:48 pm
Posts: 5
A possible solution could be:

liquidsoap -> stereotool -> flac encoder -> icecast

and then:

icecast flac stream -> flac decoder -> mp3 encoder -> icecast
icecast flac stream -> flac decoder -> aac encoder -> icecast

etc.

I have something similar running (but without liquidsoap).


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 2:40 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:29 pm
Posts: 35
Location: San Francisco, CA
For those interested, the pipe operator has been recently implemented.

:arrow: http://liquidsoap.fm/doc-svn/reference.html#pipe


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 6:51 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:31 pm
Posts: 6
Hehe, I was going to post that exact message... cheers :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:58 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:55 pm
Posts: 2
Does anyone have a working example of using Liquidsoap pipe with ST?

Trying to get it to work and struggling, getting buffer over run and garbled audio.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 4:50 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:55 pm
Posts: 2
Hello,

Does anyone have any examples of the pipe operator working with stereo tool? Trying to figure it out.


James


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:41 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:29 pm
Posts: 35
Location: San Francisco, CA
Here's an exemple:

Code:
# Input to Processing
input = radio

# Processing
process = mksafe(pipe(process='/home/path_to_stereotool/stereo_tool_cmd_64 - - -s /home/path_to_stereotool/preset.sts -q -k "<STEREO_TOOL_LICENSE>"', input))

# Processing to Output
output = process


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited