All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:03 pm 

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 6
Hello,

We are the FM radio station in Lithuania. From the summer, we use stereotool (4.22) as an FM MPX processor. It would be nice if you rate and tell what the sound would be better. We broadcast the MPX signal 30-17000Hz.
Direct link from stereotool processor (stereo output) http://radio.avita.lt:8000. (aacp 64kbps)
Directly from the studio (without processing) http://radio.avita.lt:8002 (aacp 64kbps)

Have a good day


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 8:36 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3440
nice sound....
http://radio.avita.lt:8000 - little overvolumed .. i suppose in to encoder so, give it attenuation atleast -2dB, That is for stream .. for MPX not needed.
There is some pops and clicks .. in both streams ..
pls .. post your preset.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 8:58 pm 

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 6
Internet stream is now -2dB .


Attachments:
sr_dabar_mpx-15-11.rar [2.12 KiB]
Downloaded 283 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:54 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3440
Hi Avita,
Far better, where the level should be.

About sound, little much lowbass and stereo boost for my taste but i assume that you like this way.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:33 am 

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 6
Can you compare both links. Overvolumed both or just one?
Maybe overvolumed in the first encoder or mixer console? If in both, then it in mixer console or RME audio console.
I hear something, but I'm not sure. :)

Thank you for your help


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 8:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3440
Hi Avita.
On Processed stream sound level is good now.
On AAC+ stream is always good to have ~2dB attenuation and for mp3 streams ~1db.

i'll quote muself .. i hear some "pops" and "clicks" .. and that is on both streams, so it's not coming from ST.
Maybe encoder (?)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:36 pm 

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 6
Hi Bojcha,

I checked on Wednesday a studio and found that the problem is the MP3 encoder or RME audio console.
We do not use any other encoder. In studio we use computer with Intel Core2Duo 3GHz, 4GB, 2x500Gb RAID, RME HDSP 9632 audio interface, Microsoft Windows XP, RADIO Player Pro connected to the mixer.
I checked sound with Winamp, the result is the same. When played guitar chords, i hear sound similar to a harmonic.
What MP3 decoder (software) you use?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:51 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3440
From Studio/mixer .. dry master directly to PC and StereoTool standalone. For Stereo Tool output is VAC, and same VAC is input for EdCast (Standalone) with latest
Lame v3.98.2 ..
There is some tweaks for mp3 too in lame.

Shoutcast plugin for winamp is so outdated .. EdCast is much better solution .. you can always update you codec (mp3-lame or AAC+) by copying file in EdCast directory.

_________________
control point


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited