All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: AoIP / MPX / AES?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:49 am 

Would someone like to walk this novice through a basic AoIP studio setup, eventually connecting digitally to a transmitter?
(I have no AoIP experience, but thinking through adding, say, a SIMPLE-IP to our analog console.)

I assume it goes something like

AoIP audio -> ST -> Marian Trace Alpha -> digital in to transmitter

Is ST, for example, DANTE compatibie? The MTA card?

Post subject: Re: AoIP / MPX / AES?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:14 pm 

Ok, I'll see if I can bring something to your question, by firstly asking some questions?! :?

1. What transmitter would you be using? Does it have the capacity to input true digital audio? As an example, some use ST for delivery of MPX over AES at 192 kHz.

2. Are you aware that the Trace Alpha actually has SPDIF I/O? Also, I believe it does not have any hardware SRC which is something to consider depending on how you would feed it audio? (Would your AoIP source be at 44.1 kHz?)

3. What are the physical locations of the devices? Would there be an STL involved between your source and ST?

Apologies if these are things you've already thought about. I'm not sure how savvy you are with digital audio - maybe you can give a bit more detail so that we can get a clearer idea of how to try and help?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:15 pm 

Thanks, no apology necessary. I'm a complete novice at AoIP and digital audio.

1. BW TX300v2. That may not matter so much - it looks like the end connection will still be as it is now - ST is generating the MPX so it's a BNC connection either way?
2. Yes, so I suppose it depends on how I route the audio to the MTA. What's an SRC?
My possible AoIP "source" would be the Simple-IP from Arrakis (DANTE protocol). I believe it sends at 44.1.
3. Right now, there is no STL - studio and transmitter are colocated, but this may change in the future...

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 12:28 am