All times are UTC+02:00

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 1:41 pm 

Hello everybody,

I'm not sure to post at the right place but i'll go anyway...

Very recently i changed my FM Transmission equipment, i have gone for a hand made 300W Italian trasmitter found on ebay. Very nice construction, very nice transmission but now everything is in MONO MPX, I'm still learning about it all so be indulgent :)

I'm doing radio from a Windows XP SP1 station + Winamp + Roland DuoCapture.
Everything has always worked fine with the previous FM transmitter (Cheap 15 W +Stereo built-in unit).

Now the Duo-Capture Line Out (Left) is directly connected to MPX Input.

I have a simple license of Stereo Tool, i'm currently looking to upgrade for FM Standard but i'd like to be sure about the origin of the issue i'm encountering...

I'm facing a problem when the bass is playing in the music... There is like a high frequency noise over the bass on some loud music. Please check this sound sample to get a better idea :

http://vrfm.free.fr/noise_bass_fm_monom ... mitter.mp3

This is a recording straight from good quality FM receiver.

Pay attention to the noise when the bass plays...

To fix this, I already tried :

- Reducing the MPX Volume....the noise is reducing too BUT the station is now low on volume.
- Filtering the 20Hz-60Hz frequencies of the music BUT i don't have bass anymore.

When i bypass Stereo Tool, the noise is less present but i loose all the dynamics processed by ST....
I also played with the clipping and bit of FM settings (not so easy due to my license limitations) but the noise is always there ! I'm afraid it is the quality of my MPX transmitter...

Can someone please help me understand what's happening here ? I never faced this kind of noise when 20Hz-60Hz are playing... It sounds like a sample rate issue maybe ? I don't really know...

Thank you for this community and this great tool !

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 4:50 pm