All times are UTC+02:00

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2013 11:51 pm 

Hi there,

I am sorry if this has been mentioned before, but as you can guess I am new here and this is my first post. I really need help with this! :)

I have been using Stereo Tool for around 2 years now, and really like what it does to the music (it makes music a lot more punchy and lively!!). I have recently got the RDS encoder working with my mini FM transmitter, along with the FM composite limiter too.

However, the mini FM transmitter has a built in stereo encoder, along with pre emphasis too, which means I have the FM composite limiter set around 100%, with the Pre Emphasis and the Stereo Encoder set to Off in Stereo Tool. If set it around 102%, the modulation is a lot tighter and isn't over modulated any more, but, because I don't need the stereo encoder on in Stereo Tool, this means the audio goes into mono. Unfortunately I can't switch off the Stereo Encoder or Pre Emphasis in the transmitter, as I would if I could.

So basically is there any way I can achieve tight modulation without using Stereo Tool's built in Stereo Encoder? To stop the audio from over modulating on FM I have to set the audio on the PC very quiet! If I switch on the Stereo Encoder in Stereo Tool, the 2 sort of fight with each other creating a phasey sort of sound.

Do I need to buy the full version of Stereo Tool as I only use the Free home version at the moment? :)

Thanks for reading
Jack

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 am 

Hi..
Tight signal is because mpx clipper in stereo coder in Stereo Tool..in your transmitter is only stereo coder + pre-emphasis.
So, since you cannot turn off Stereo Coder / pre-emphasis in transmitter.. you can use "normal" output (L/R) from Stereo Tool and feed transmitter.. to get bit tighter mpx.. you can try to use Pre-emphasis for Normal output (0-30us).
Ofcourse you cannot have RDS from StereoTool this way.

I reccomend You to get transmitter with pure mpx input.