Stereo Tool

Feedback, questions, settings and more...
      Home         Download         Donate         Register         Forums         Help   
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:16 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RT+ over Network
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:21 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:17 am
Posts: 37
Hi I have some trouble sending RT+ over network (Stereo Tool expect RTP=[RAW_TEXT_DATA] (for instance RTP=0,1,1,32,4,4,12,16 for Artist: Pharrell Williams and Title: Happy which I don't know know how to make (any documentation about this RTP command?)

Thanks for Anwsering and Best Regards


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: RT+ over Network
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 2:57 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9023
Hi,

The numbers are type (0-63 if I recall correctly), start position and length (and you can have upto 2).

I'm using the same ASCII "dialect" as Nautel transmitters, if that helps. That was suggested to me by the makers of the Arctic Palm RDS software. Type for artist is 4, for title is 1. These are the standard RT+ numbers.
So something like this should work (not tested!!):
RT=Now playing Pharrell Williams - Happy
RT+= 4,12,17,1,32,5


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: RT+ over Network
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:08 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:17 am
Posts: 37
thanks it kinda works althought I get only artist and no title on RDS Spy
Image

but I still don't quite get the format so you first indicate artist with 4 (in our case Now playing Pharrell Williams - Happy) you then indicate position where artist start (12 because Pharrell Williams starts on 12 if you count from begining of the string) then you indicate artist lenght (Pharrell Williams has 17 characters)
so now we setted artist part but I still don't get title part: 1,32,5 (Happy starts at 32 and has 5 characters) but it doesn't work for some reason
PS: what is the code for URL?

Thanks for Anwsering and Best Regards

you think you could implement X-Command: http://pira.cz/rds/xcmd.pdf
it would be better way to send RT+ then RTP command


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: RT+ over Network
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 12:12 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9023
URL is 29.

Implementing that Pira protocol is on my todo list, the problem is that there are so many of those protocols that are all different...

Your string looks correct, and you can see that RDS Spy is showing the exact same data (and uses the exact same format for it!) - but for the 2nd string it's all wrong (start is wrong, and size is 0). It could be a bug in my code, I have tested it but maybe something broke since I implemented it. Will add it to my todo list for the next release.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: RT+ over Network
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 12:47 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9023
Ok, found it. The 3rd number is not the size, but the size - 1. So, in the example above,
RT=Now playing Pharrell Williams - Happy
RT+= 4,12,16,1,32,4

These numbers appear to correspond with what RdsSpy shows, and they definitely match the raw RDS code, so I'm keeping it like this, even though it may seem odd.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: RT+ over Network
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:17 am
Posts: 37
Thanks

do you have any table that details what other numbers like 1,2,5,7, etc (if 1 is title and 4 is artist and 29 is url what about 1,3,5,6,7 and souch)

PS: if \+Ar is artist in Stereo Tool and \+Ur is URL and \+Ti is title what about other RT+ tags like Composer, Album, Composition and souch)

Thanks for Anwsering and Best Regards


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: RT+ over Network
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:51 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9023
Hi,
I only added these 3 codes because they seemed the most important (since RT is pretty slow, I don't think anyone would be sending out album names etc?). The list is just the official RDS specification... need to find it online somewhere.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited