All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:38 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3322
I asked that almost 5 years ago :)

_________________
control point


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:41 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:32 am
Posts: 230
Location: Poland
Huh! 5 years ago I was say... lightyears behind in my dark ages ;) And it's only recently when I started to mess around with RDS :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 1:13 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:30 am
Posts: 126
Newbie question alert: I am about to try ST on a different machine (Dell Optiplex 790), a Realtek audio card, but analog out (1/8" stereo). If it works, I intend to (register ST! and) route the audio directly to EAS then FM transmitter. Doesn't that 'introduce' unbalanced audio? Is is an issue?


Heretofore I was sending audio separately (from a Patchbox) to either the FM transmitter, or a simple limiter than a Barix to stream Internet audio out. But I assume some/many of you simply split the stream after ST, sending one to EAS->FM and the other to your streaming computer (or Barix).


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 11:33 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:12 am
Posts: 62
I dont know if you can feed MPX to audio in on your EAS then out to the TX and have it maintain MPX.

I do know if you have digital on your pc you can feed digital to a digital eas and then digital to your TX and MPX to your TX.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 10:51 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:30 am
Posts: 126
I don't have digital on my EAS.
Still trying to work out (before I have it in hand) Marian Trace Alpha out into MPX in on the transmitter.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 1:07 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:30 am
Posts: 126
Sorry to be a newbie here again...

Would someone (in the US) recommend two or three (older) models that have the 'supported' Realtek sound card and run ST well enough? I have tried one or two I found "on my own" but I wasn't satisfied with the sound...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 1:52 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9500
Hi BJ,

If that's the case then I'm guessing that the Realtek just doesn't sound so good. I've never put them side-by-side, on FM comparing to other stations here my Realtek laptop headphone output sounds much better than anything else on the air. But it could be that the Marian sounds better.

What do you hear exactly?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:46 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:30 am
Posts: 126
Well it was a brief trial (since the loss of the equipment this week).
But the one computer with Realtek I had, had occasional dropouts. (This was of course without the Marian. I only got to play with the Marian briefly.)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:57 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:30 am
Posts: 126
So I can see the "approved" chipsets above...

Could someone, for the benefit of this newbie, post their simplest version of a "production chain" in their ST box? Assume using the onboard realtek, full FM, eventually MPX out. I get that all sample rates need to be either the same or multiples of same; does it have to be 192Khz?
Do I need VAC (which I have used)? MPX tool?

And is the stock 1/8" output OK or do I need a different audio connection out?

I expect to be working in Win7 but would win10 be better? (Hans, has ST been 'approved' for Win10 yet?)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 12:34 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:30 am
Posts: 126
Hm, I dug up a computer of mine with Realtek ALC888 which online says it can handle 192Khz... so maybe I am in business later...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited