All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:20 pm
Posts: 211
Hi to all. I have the same dirty mpx with vb if i use ST and VB Hi-Fi for mpx. The trick is to set it up for 176.4Khz and 16bit mode. And it works perfectly for windows 7 . I want to test that on windows 10 so results on the next post.

_________________
Very proud user of Stereo Tool since 2010. Thanks Hans.

My radio station
http://amradio.ddns.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:07 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:32 am
Posts: 230
Location: Poland
Quote:
Hi to all. I have the same dirty mpx with vb if i use ST and VB Hi-Fi for mpx. The trick is to set it up for 176.4Khz and 16bit mode. And it works perfectly for windows 7 . I want to test that on windows 10 so results on the next post.
Actually I've sent you a PM with kind request regarding that kind of testing ;) As far as my test system goes, I get clean MPX output for every ST samplerate but 44.1 (in seven). Even though at 48 kHz you can hear the artifacts perfectly, the MPX is also clean. This is for VB hi fi cable. It seems really strange. The best part is that actually the realtek ALC codecs are advertised as able to resample on-the-fly with excellent quality. That is not exactly the truth then (if you get serious artifacts doing so). At least in Windows 7. I didn't have an opportunity to test it with XP extensively enough.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:20 pm
Posts: 211
No in windows 10 the problem is fixed.

Pics

176,4Khz
https://www.dropbox.com/s/66habp6jzf5wr ... z.png?dl=0
192Khz
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7kshcapy3i2ai ... z.png?dl=0

_________________
Very proud user of Stereo Tool since 2010. Thanks Hans.

My radio station
http://amradio.ddns.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:50 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3322
Quote:
It's good at 176.4 because something is working at 44.1.

Guys try to set all at same sample rate. Best is 48kHz. Player, Vcable (whatever it is) ST (even for FM), soundcard!.. etc
You are limited because Leif's RTA and MPX Tool are best with 48kHz, so all must be at exactly at same sample rate.
If you use winamp look my previous post how to set it always at 48. If any other player, you must find way to make it to always work at 48kHz.

Or use XP! xD

_________________
control point


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:20 pm
Posts: 211
Slawomir B. there are a lot of things that have changed from 7 to 10... Some of them are CPU core management and drivers. And the fact that i am getting 8 - 10 sec of boot time is insanely fast....

I am using an 128kb/s stream at 48Khz directly from stereo tool

AAA and the fact that realtek says "My re-samplers are great quality" doesn't mean that they are ....

( I will pm you soon.....)

THANK YOU ALL GUYS

_________________
Very proud user of Stereo Tool since 2010. Thanks Hans.

My radio station
http://amradio.ddns.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:24 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:32 am
Posts: 230
Location: Poland
Quote:

Guys try to set all at same sample rate. Best is 48kHz. Player, Vcable (whatever it is) ST (even for FM), soundcard!.. etc
You are limited because Leif's RTA and MPX Tool are best with 48kHz, so all must be at exactly at same sample rate.
If you use winamp look my previous post how to set it always at 48. If any other player, you must find way to make it to always work at 48kHz.

Or use XP! xD
It makes a lot of sense, but I get trouble doing so without artifacts mentioned. My ALC just doesn't seem to like 48 kHz. Maybe I'll try this trick on another machine.

EDIT: @ mpex2006km - good to know MS got something fixed finally. Too bad I bought 8.1 already :/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:29 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:32 am
Posts: 230
Location: Poland
Quote:
Quote:

Guys try to set all at same sample rate. Best is 48kHz. Player, Vcable (whatever it is) ST (even for FM), soundcard!.. etc
You are limited because Leif's RTA and MPX Tool are best with 48kHz, so all must be at exactly at same sample rate.
If you use winamp look my previous post how to set it always at 48. If any other player, you must find way to make it to always work at 48kHz.

Or use XP! xD
you mentioned something like "Input module decoder tuned to 48kHz". To the best of my knowledge module decoder has nothing to do with mpeg. It's a decoder for *.mod file format.

EDIT: Indeed module decoder has nothing to do with that :P

If you're messing around with samplerate in VB - REMEMBER TO REBOOT ;)

Also I confirm that Bojcha's way works perfectly, but with VAC and not VB. Therefore If you want to avoid problem with samplerate conversion, the VAC is better choice.
So: set everything to 48 kHz following Bojcha's instructions (earlier in this thread, if using Winamp, set out to directsound). Remember to set 48 kHz literally everywhere (playback and record in soundcard settings - don't forget that).

When you want to check FM settings and pass signal to MPX tool you need another VAC, which you set to 192 kHz 16 bit (and set cable format).

Regards,
SB


Last edited by Slawomir B. on Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:52 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:32 am
Posts: 230
Location: Poland
Hmm.... am I missing something? Does anyone get something like this in demod?

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:28 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3322
Can't remember is that "it" and does it look like that... (will check)
http://www.forumclaessonedwards.com/for ... 855.0.html

_________________
control point


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Realtek ALC Support
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:27 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:32 am
Posts: 230
Location: Poland
Ahaaaa! That's why I sometimes see it and sometimes not :D It's demodulated RDS that penetrates into audio spectrum. Somehow I missed that one on claessonedwards forum. Thanks!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited