All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:52 pm 

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:05 pm
Posts: 10
As I mentioned in a another post of mine, I would like to make my brickwalled CDs more listenable. They all have an average DR (Dynamic Range) of 7 and it is painful to listen to that through headphones, even when turning down the volume.

Recently I discovered "Perfect Declipper" (http://www.perfectdeclipper.com/) and the "Thimeo Stereo Tool" (https://www.stereotool.com/), downloaded the trial versions and tried them out (through iZotope RX7).

For the "Perfect Declipper" I now have two presets that can do real magic, turning a DR 6 into a DR 11 or 12 while staying true to the original sound.

Experimenting with "Stereo Tool" I like the preset called "Unvail" from "Bojcha" the most. It really "unveils" what is hidden in the background and sounds great. But it also changes the "original" sound a bit.

Since I like both, my presets for the "Perfect Declipper" and the preset "Unvail" in Stereo Tool, I would like to know whether there is a way to load the presets I used with "Perfect Declipper" into the Stereo Tool, so that I would have two presets I could use to process all of my CDs, which would leave me in the end with 3 CDs 1. The original, brickwalled CD,
2. The processed CD for which I would use the "Perfect Declipper" preset,
3. The processed CD for which I would use the "Unvail" preset from "Bojcha".

I tried to load the "Perfect Declipper" presets into Stereo Tool, changing the "dcl" ending into "sts". But the result is not the same as with "Perfect Declipper".

So my question:

Can I use the "Perfect Declipper" presets with Stereo Tool (if yes, how is that to be done, because I tried and got different results than with "Perfect Declipper"), or do I have to buy both programmes, so that I can use my presets and "Bojcha's" preset "Unvail"?

Any helpful advice is appreciated!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:03 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3492
Image

_________________
control point


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:05 am 

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:05 pm
Posts: 10
Thank you, but that is what I have tried before:

Changing the ending of the "Perfect Declipper" settings from "dcl" into "sts", so that I can load the presets into the Stereo Tool.

Unfortunately the result I get (after processing with Stereo Tool) is completely different compared with the result I get using the same presets but processing through "Perfect Declipper".


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:15 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9911
Hi, loading those settings should work... there is one setting in the Declipper plugin that's not present in Stereo Tool, to attenuate the sound to make room for the added spikes in the waveform. Just lowering the level should do it...


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:28 pm 

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:05 pm
Posts: 10
Quote:
Hi, loading those settings should work... there is one setting in the Declipper plugin that's not present in Stereo Tool, to attenuate the sound to make room for the added spikes in the waveform. Just lowering the level should do it...
I tried it one more time and the result is not the same as with "Perfect Declipper". I processed a DR 6 file and received a DR 6 file. With "Perfect Declipper" I received a DR 10 file which sounds great through headphones because the "brickwalling" is gone.

Looking at the screenshot from Bojcha I notice that on my Stereo Tool screen I do not see ""Veil" and "Detection" underneath the Declipper toolbar on the left. There is just "Declipper" - "Input" - "Restoration" - "Display (L, hor)", but no "Veil" and no "Detection".


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:00 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:28 am
Posts: 20
Quote:
Quote:
Hi, loading those settings should work... there is one setting in the Declipper plugin that's not present in Stereo Tool, to attenuate the sound to make room for the added spikes in the waveform. Just lowering the level should do it...
I tried it one more time and the result is not the same as with "Perfect Declipper". I processed a DR 6 file and received a DR 6 file. With "Perfect Declipper" I received a DR 10 file which sounds great through headphones because the "brickwalling" is gone.

Looking at the screenshot from Bojcha I notice that on my Stereo Tool screen I do not see ""Veil" and "Detection" underneath the Declipper toolbar on the left. There is just "Declipper" - "Input" - "Restoration" - "Display (L, hor)", but no "Veil" and no "Detection".
That's because he's using more than likely an older version of the stand alone ST that has those options. The updated DeClipper in Stereo Tool, AFAIK, Does not have those options. The Perfect Declipper, from that website is from April 2017. If that is the case, you'll have to roll back your version of ST.

_________________
-- JE
.::.(())::. Urban Hitz Radio™ USA .::.(())::. The People' Choice for Hip-Hop & R&B!
Listen to Urban Hitz RadioGET A Local or TOLL-FREE Request Line NOW...Only $2 Monthly – StereoTool 7.24:Licensed!


Last edited by UrbanHitzRadio on Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 2:55 pm 

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:05 pm
Posts: 10
Quote:


If that is the case, you'll have to roll back your version of ST.


And how can I roll back my version of StereoTool?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 9:58 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:28 am
Posts: 20
Quote:
Quote:


If that is the case, you'll have to roll back your version of ST.


And how can I roll back my version of StereoTool?
By installing an older version. However, I assume Veil is in your settings configuration. I know my older settings have it. Maybe Hans or Bojcha can confirm.

_________________
-- JE
.::.(())::. Urban Hitz Radio™ USA .::.(())::. The People' Choice for Hip-Hop & R&B!
Listen to Urban Hitz RadioGET A Local or TOLL-FREE Request Line NOW...Only $2 Monthly – StereoTool 7.24:Licensed!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 10:45 pm 

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:05 pm
Posts: 10
Thank you, and where do I have to look for an older version?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:26 pm 

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:14 pm
Posts: 10
Don't. Go to Configuration, then in the User Interface section on the right you can set the Operating mode to Extreme Tweaker and all settings will be there.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited