All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:23 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:08 pm
Posts: 25
Currently I am using a licensed version of the Stand Alone version of Stereo Tool on a Mac Mini. Works fine. I got to thinking if I could use Stereo Tool on the same computer as my automation software, I could reduce my power consumption in half and have one less computer on the desk.

How do I accomplish this with a Mac computer? Not sure what additional downloads are needed and how to interface the software together.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:38 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3480
You have some virtual cable for mac. I dont know any for OSX tho.

_________________
control point


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:16 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:20 pm
Posts: 36
https://rogueamoeba.com/loopback/


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:44 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:30 am
Posts: 130
You're going to have limited software options if you're thinking of running automation software on a Mac. Radiologik and MegaSeg are the only two I'm aware of.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:52 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:08 pm
Posts: 25
Quote:
You're going to have limited software options if you're thinking of running automation software on a Mac. Radiologik and MegaSeg are the only two I'm aware of.
I use MegaSeg. I am hoping that I can find a way to get the audio from MegaSeg into Stereo Tools on the same computer. Will look into the suggestions made to date. Works fine when using separate computers for each at least.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:16 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:22 pm
Posts: 257
I would indeed suggest using loopback as that's the easiest and most hassle-free way to get it working.

_________________
Software Engineer @ Thimeo Audio Technology B.V.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2019 6:03 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:08 pm
Posts: 25
Thanks. Will demo Loopback first to see if it will work.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:46 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:08 pm
Posts: 25
Have started to use Loopback with MegaSeg. Since I can't find any kind of manual for Loopback and the online information is sparse, but I have been able to get the audio routed via the Loopback Audio Out to Stereo Tool. Found the key is the input Device needing to be set to Loopback in Stereo Tool.

I am currently using an external speaker with the Mini along with the Internal Audio. For some reason I am hearing the audio from MegaSeg on the computer Speaker and the external Speaker at the same time. It leads to an audio delay. Should I just get rid of the external speaker? I will be routing the audio from the computer to a transmitter but I have production work to do and using the external speaker is better than the build in speaker.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 2:21 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:20 pm
Posts: 36
Manual for Loopback is located at the help menu or with cmd-?.

In MegaSeg set output to loopback and not speakers.

In stereotool set input to loopback and output to the output you want the sound to come from.

Do you have a mixer in the chain or do you do all "in the mac" and do want to get to transmitter directly from the mac?

Regards

MrDonT


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 2:47 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:08 pm
Posts: 25
Quote:
Manual for Loopback is located at the help menu or with cmd-?.

In MegaSeg set output to loopback and not speakers.

In stereotool set input to loopback and output to the output you want the sound to come from.

Do you have a mixer in the chain or do you do all "in the mac" and do want to get to transmitter directly from the mac?

Regards

MrDonT
I have a Arrakis ARC 8 console. Simple interface with the Mac mini. No issues there.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited