All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:23 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:25 pm
Posts: 150
Do any features in Win 10 need to be turned off like updates,etc, to work ON AIR with no issues?
Using ST stand alone version.
Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:05 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3480
Yes..
downgrade to Win7

_________________
control point


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:21 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:25 pm
Posts: 150
yep. Think I will just stay with 7

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:02 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:19 am
Posts: 66
Sorry to bring up this old topic. But are there any new insights in using Win10 in pro audio environment?

I'm involved in upgrading a station which is now using mostly Dante. We would like to use ST for FM processing at a later stage. But with Dante only supporting Windows (and Mac, but that's not going to happen) and current hardware not providing Win 7 drivers - let alone licensing problems - what would be the way forward?
A fallback could be to use a USB-to Dante adapter and setup a Linux machine running ST. But that would limit us to 2x2 I/O.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:22 pm
Posts: 257
The most important thing is to make sure updates are disabled, and most of all, stay disabled. To be sure of that you could block Microsofts update servers in your DNS. Other than that it should run fine, really.

_________________
Software Engineer @ Thimeo Audio Technology B.V.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:06 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:19 am
Posts: 66
Ok, thanks for replying. I did find a registry option which can be set via the "Gruppenrichtlinien" (can't find the english word for it) but that failed. Well, not completely, but Windows installed a security patch without asking.
So indeed Windows Updates need to be blocked completely.

I don't know if that relates, but after logging out of Remote Desktop, ST nealy came to a halt, blocked by a svchost.exe using ~25% CPU. Killing the task resumes ST. After I found the recent update I'm not sure if that was an immediate result or if the Remote Desktop disconnect does any harm to the Dante ASIO driver (it does kill all WASAPI, been through that before).

Using ST 9.35 and Win 10 Enterpise IoT LTSC as a platform for experiments with streaming output.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:24 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:02 pm
Posts: 72
Quote:
Ok, thanks for replying. I did find a registry option which can be set via the "Gruppenrichtlinien" (can't find the english word for it) but that failed. Well, not completely, but Windows installed a security patch without asking.
So indeed Windows Updates need to be blocked completely.

I don't know if that relates, but after logging out of Remote Desktop, ST nealy came to a halt, blocked by a svchost.exe using ~25% CPU. Killing the task resumes ST. After I found the recent update I'm not sure if that was an immediate result or if the Remote Desktop disconnect does any harm to the Dante ASIO driver (it does kill all WASAPI, been through that before).

Using ST 9.35 and Win 10 Enterpise IoT LTSC as a platform for experiments with streaming output.
Don't use remote desktop because it often mess the audio drivers or address. Use teamwiever or anydesk instead.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 9:29 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:19 am
Posts: 66
I hesitate to use any cloud based remote controls, would rather use VNC or the like. VPN is available...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 1:40 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:31 pm
Posts: 2
Quote:
Use teamwiever or anydesk instead.
I would rather suggest trying NoMachine - which is available for free.

Unless the user buys a commercial license, TeamViewer will start asking them to pay and making some stupid things like 'it looks like you or your partner use a free version of TeamViewer for commercial purposes so you will be disconnected in a few minutes... blahblahblah'. That's kinda annoying. I told this piece of software goodbye forever after making this to me many times.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited