All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Output level creeping up
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:09 pm 

Newbie here.

I installed Stereo Tool to try and solve the problem of voices in films being too quiet compared to the background sound, and with AGC turned on it seems to do that pretty well.

But the problem I'm experiencing is that the output level creeps up over about 10-20 minutes, to the point where I get a lot of distortion. Clicking on the "restart sound card" button solves this temporarily, but it comes back again after 10-20 minutes.

This is visible in the blue outputs level bar on the right hand side of the sound card dialogue box. It creeps up from about 40-50% to about 80%.

Apart from turning on AGC which is off by default, I didnt change many settings in Stereo Tool.

I use the low latency output with the volume set to 96% which seems to be a default. Output volume is generally rather low.

Selecting different virtual cables as input and output (kernel streaming, wasapi, MME) doesnt seem to make any difference.

My system: Win 10 64 bit. Stereo Tool V9.01 stand-alone (same problem with V8.54). VB Virtual Cable, then tried VAC - same problem. Nvidia GTX1060 video card HDMI output.

Any suggestions appreciated.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:54 pm 
Site Admin

Ow. Those meters aren't output level, but buffer usage.

If it creeps up this fast, then the VAC sample rate is very far off. Stereo Tool will compensate for that - upto a point. If it's too far off, it won't keep up. And when the buffer is too full, it starts to drop parts of the audio which will sound really bad.

Workaround (the actual issue is in VAC): In the input sound card settings, there's a "Synchronize to output" setting, with a speed slider (with a value that's by default 0.5%). Set that higher. 1%, maybe even 1.5...

Edit: If both VAC and VB Cable have this, it might instead be a problem in your actual sound card. That's rare - but it can happen.