Stereo Tool

Feedback, questions, settings and more...
      Home         Download         Donate         Register         Forums         Help   
It is currently Tue May 22, 2018 11:38 pm

All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:14 pm 

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:05 pm
Posts: 6
Hi all,

I have made a fresh install on my processing computer. I have Ubuntu 16.04LTS running on a SSD, the processor is the E8400 with 4GB of RAM. It boots very fast and ST 8.54 runs fine on it (max. 90% CPU consumption).

I would not write this post if I wouldn't have any issues. One is that when I start ST sometimes the GUI does not appear. The program runs because I hear audio and can see the process with top. Killing it and restarting sometimes fixes the issue. Is this a bug or is there a setting that needs to be changed?

Another issue is that my audio card (ESI Juli@) changes from hw1,0 to hw0,0 after a reboot. The next reboot it changes back again. Is there a configuration file where I can fix how the card will present itself in Ubuntu?

Thanks in advance for your comment!

Regards,


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:21 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:19 am
Posts: 24
I have the same issue with the GUI not showing up on some starts...thought that has been addressed recently (there's been something in the changelog), but seems not to fix it.

For the audio device, you should be able to use the ALSA name, I have a RME card and it identifies as hw:HDSP. You can tell the names by typing aplay -l and aplay -L on the command line.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 9:56 pm 

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:05 pm
Posts: 6
Quote:
I have the same issue with the GUI not showing up on some starts...thought that has been addressed recently (there's been something in the changelog), but seems not to fix it.

For the audio device, you should be able to use the ALSA name, I have a RME card and it identifies as hw:HDSP. You can tell the names by typing aplay -l and aplay -L on the command line.
Thank you for your answer! Yes I know how to find the names. The problem is the Juli@ card just keeps changing at every boot from hw0,0 to hw1,0 or vice versa as I said. I don't know how to fix this and cannot find anything about it on the internet. Seems to be some kind of alsa issue since there are no 'two' inputs on the Juli@...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited