All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Use GPU for processing
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:26 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:12 am
Posts: 65
I do some work in crypto and I have a suggestion. Can you code in a driver for stereo tool that will enable GPU's to be used for audio processing?
I could only imagine the level of quality you could get out of GPU processed audio in low latency real time.

What does everyone think?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:40 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3440
Quote:
I do some work in crypto and I have a suggestion. Can you code in a driver for stereo tool that will enable GPU's to be used for audio processing?
I could only imagine the level of quality you could get out of GPU processed audio in low latency real time.

What does everyone think?
I dont know details, but in short, no.

Are you on Beam or Grean ? :) :P

_________________
control point


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 3:56 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9820
It can be done but:
- It will take a lot of time (probably a year or more) to convert all the processing code.
- Many things in audio processing aren't very suitable for GPU processing, because they depend on previous samples. We already use AVX whereever we can - which can do 8 (in some cases 16) calculations simultaneously. So the only pieces of code that would benefit from a GPU already don't use much CPU.
- If you have a fast CPU, the CPU load already isn't very high as it is, and you can reach latencies below 6 ms already. Using a GPU - if it is infinitely faster than the CPU which it isn't - would only save 1 ms or so.

So, it would basically take a lot of time and not have any real benefits. You can (and we have just done this earlier this year) buy a pc for under 350 euro/400 dollars that can run 3 Stereo Tool FM instances side by side at the absolute highest quality (150%) and lowest latency (5.5 ms) for FM (*)....


(*) You can't currently run 3 instances all at this low latency because you need ASIO for this and only 1 program can use ASIO at the same time. We're working on that...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited