All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2019 9:56 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:26 pm
Posts: 10
I've found a major bug with the new Stereo Tool 9.35.

Processing -> Limiting & Clipping -> Advanced Clipper -> Sound

There is a new 'Grain' option, that says "Softer and duller but less grainy". By default, this is turned off (unchecked). With this default setting, I noticed a distinct lack of highs.

So I compared the output between the Grain option turned off (unchecked) and turned on (checked). To my understanding, having it turned OFF means the highs should be present but might have more grain/disortion. Turning it ON might soften or subdue the highs to reduce distortion.

But actually, with it turned OFF there is an 11KHz high pass filter. Yes, the default OFF setting acts as a 11KHz high pass filter. This is a major, major bug. Please check and compare the below sample FLACs.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/n6ieymubl2718 ... .flac?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/lz3qxpg9hi7pe ... .flac?dl=0


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:10 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9894
I have measured the difference on my end and I am getting more and higher highs with it turned off, as expected. So, there must be something in your settings that's different... I'll try to reproduce it again today.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3480
Know to happen if limiter is used on normal output.

_________________
control point


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 10:09 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:26 pm
Posts: 10
Quote:
Know to happen if limiter is used on normal output.
Which limiter are you referring to? I tried the two that I found:
Processing [main menu] -> "Don't allow above 0 dB" button
Processing -> Limiting & Clipping -> Hard Limit output

Toggling these on/off doesn't make any difference. The output still has an 11kHz cut with the grain turned off. Is there something else I'm missing?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 10:10 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:26 pm
Posts: 10
Quote:
I have measured the difference on my end and I am getting more and higher highs with it turned off, as expected. So, there must be something in your settings that's different... I'll try to reproduce it again today.
Were you able to reproduce this? Would it help if I exported and sent the .sts file?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited