All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:46 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Milan, Italy
From version 8.52 the VST plugin no longer works in audacity.

Or better it works when playing (listening) but not in 'offline' mode, aka when you press 'apply' on the plugin window.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:40 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:22 pm
Posts: 129
Quote:
Or better it works when playing (listening) but not in 'offline' mode, aka when you press 'apply' on the plugin window.
What does it do when you press that button?

_________________
Software Engineer @ Thimeo Audio Technology B.V.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:34 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Milan, Italy
Quote:
What does it do when you press that button?
Absolutely nothing.

In previous versions it applied the plugin to the selection.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:44 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Milan, Italy
There is something I can do to help investigating the problem?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:18 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Milan, Italy
The problem is no longer present, I suppose then that probably it was not related to stereotool.

Nevertheless support level on this issue report has been disappointing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:07 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Milan, Italy
Sadly I was wrong.

The VST code from 8.52 does something wrong with audacity.

Latest 8.55 beta works but only if a pre 8.52 version is also enabled, in my previous attempt also 8.54 worked with an older version than 8.52 enabled.

Please check what changed in VST code from version 8.52, there is someting wrong (at least with audacity).

A little feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:23 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9385
Sorry I missed this one. Checking now...

Audacity's VST support has been very buggy for years... so this question might need to be sent to Audacity instead. I'll know more in a few minutes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:50 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Milan, Italy
Thanks a lot :)

Version 8.40 works flawlessy with Audacity, though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:22 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9385
I just tested it, and it looks like Audacity is getting the list of parameters when you hit Apply, and then does nothing... it doesn't call my code at all, so whatever is wrong must be inside Audacity. The problem is most likely - I've seen that before - the number of parameters. Audacity doesn't seem to like plugins with more than 4096 parameters. :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:35 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9385
Ok that's not it. I reduced the number of parameters to 1000 (by just ignoring the rest) and Apply still doesn't work. Odd. I'm going back in time to older versions now to see what's different.

Edit: 8.40 is ok. 8.50 is not.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited