Stereo Tool

Feedback, questions, settings and more...
      Home         Download         Donate         Register         Forums         Help   
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:48 am

All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: "Cursor Noise"
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:52 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:49 pm
Posts: 182
On two different computers, one very stout and one underpowered, when I move the cursor across the Stereo Tool screen, it puts a popping noise in the audio. The CPU usage goes to the max in the underpowered box and clearly shows on the powerful computer. Both have popping sounds in the audio. Minimizing ST makes sure it doesn't happen. It almost seems that running the cursor across the screen places a higher CPU load than ST running does. When moving the cursor across the desktop, it has no effect. This has been the case for some time (not just a 7.6 issue). Anyone else seeing/hearing this?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: "Cursor Noise"
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:24 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 8949
Which Windows version are you using? And are you using a system with Hyperthreading and not that many cores?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: "Cursor Noise"
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 3:44 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:49 pm
Posts: 182
hvz wrote:Which Windows version are you using? And are you using a system with Hyperthreading and not that many cores?
The underpowered system is an old Duo Core that I have to reduce the CPU loading on whereas the stout one has 4 cores (i5) and ST uses only 25-30% of the CPU to run it full blast. The wimpy system is XP and the hefty one is Win 7 32 bit. They are both unplugged at the moment so I can't readily access any further detail. When you watch your 4 cores on the performance screen and scroll the cursor across the ST screen, do your CPU loads go up noticeably Hans ?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: "Cursor Noise"
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 10:37 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 8949
bob53bob wrote:
hvz wrote:Which Windows version are you using? And are you using a system with Hyperthreading and not that many cores?
The underpowered system is an old Duo Core that I have to reduce the CPU loading on whereas the stout one has 4 cores (i5) and ST uses only 25-30% of the CPU to run it full blast. The wimpy system is XP and the hefty one is Win 7 32 bit. They are both unplugged at the moment so I can't readily access any further detail. When you watch your 4 cores on the performance screen and scroll the cursor across the ST screen, do your CPU loads go up noticeably Hans ?
Yes, but you can configure which thread runs on which core and I usually run the GUI thread on a core that isn't really usable for processing (core 0, which is used by Windows drivers etc.).

Can you try this:
- Set processing on cores 2+4 (assuming that you see 8 cores with Hyperthreading)
- Set GUI on core 0


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: "Cursor Noise"
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 3:44 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:27 pm
Posts: 7
This problem usually happens due to an inappropriate video card or display driver not installed. Make sure the video card drivers are installed properly and upgrade the video card if necessary.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited