All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 587 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 559 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Stereo Tool 7.85 BETA
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:51 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9947
7.85 BETA003

Windows 32 bit:
Windows stand alone: http://www.stereotool.com/download/ster ... 85-003.exe
Winamp DSP: http://www.stereotool.com/download/dsp_ ... 85-003.exe
Windows VST 32 bit: http://www.stereotool.com/download/vst_ ... 85-003.dll

Note: Right clicking does NOT go back to the default value anymore, but to the value of the last loaded preset. If you click right again you will get the default value, after that continuing to click will switch between the two. I can change the behavior into normal / double clicking, waiting for feedback...

CHANGED:
Bug: If you use FM and Normal output, with separately processed audio for streaming for Normal output, and for FM output enable pre-emphasis but *not* pre-emphasize output, then Normal output is not processed separately!
- What is the pink line in the BS412 display? Maybe remove it. http://i.imgur.com/70mWvqp.png -> Ah no, it's the adjustment of the compressor thresholds. Needs to be added to Help page.
- BS412 has VERY narrow jump on de-basser from 240 to 250 Hz. (Jump of multiple dB's). -> No, brown line jumps but actual output is smooth, so no problem.
- BS412 bass filter doesn't use ITU1770 as it should but some weird other shape that goes up to about 250 Hz.
- Need to support 2 default values and a RESET TO LAST LOADED VALUE reset option. - Works, 1st right click goes to preset, 2nd right click goes to default. It might be better to make it right click & right double click, waiting for feedback first.
- Hide not selected deprecated stuff - partially working!
- Move Copyright stuff etc. also to command line version (maybe just copy it?)

TODO:
- Continue with finding parameters to hide
- Add conditional hiding depending on other parameters (for example for whole screens)
- O skin


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 7:01 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:44 pm
Posts: 1127
Location: Bulgaria
I think "right click" must continue to set the "default" value.
May be "double right click" is the good one for "last loaded....". Also switching between two is not good idea in my opinion, because if you switch it too much times , you can forget which was the default, which was the "last loaded value", even you can forget which switch is next .

So let it be "two separate clicking modes" for the two values.But the most important is - default value to continue to be with "right click" , NOT double right, because all users knows as this behavour.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:52 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:39 pm
Posts: 312
Why switch to "last loaded preset" and not just last value?

Anyhow I think that returning to default values should at least be clearly distinct to anything else to avoid confusion and accidental unwished results.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:47 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9947
I just figured out that I should still be able to use the mouse scroll wheel. Trying that now...

Edit: Yes, this is better. New behavior (next beta);
- Click right: Reset to default (as before)
- Click middle: Reset to last load (can also be last start)
- Double click right: Same as Click middle


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:38 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:56 pm
Posts: 326
Thats very nice Hans...!!!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:57 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9947
7.85 BETA004

Windows 32 bit:
Windows stand alone: http://www.stereotool.com/download/ster ... 85-004.exe
Winamp DSP: http://www.stereotool.com/download/dsp_ ... 85-004.exe
Windows VST 32 bit: http://www.stereotool.com/download/vst_ ... 85-004.dll

CHANGED:
- Right clicking now restores default again, mid or double right clicking restores last loaded preset (or startup) value.

OLD CHANGES:
Bug: If you use FM and Normal output, with separately processed audio for streaming for Normal output, and for FM output enable pre-emphasis but *not* pre-emphasize output, then Normal output is not processed separately!
- What is the pink line in the BS412 display? Maybe remove it. http://i.imgur.com/70mWvqp.png -> Ah no, it's the adjustment of the compressor thresholds. Needs to be added to Help page.
- BS412 has VERY narrow jump on de-basser from 240 to 250 Hz. (Jump of multiple dB's). -> No, brown line jumps but actual output is smooth, so no problem.
- BS412 bass filter doesn't use ITU1770 as it should but some weird other shape that goes up to about 250 Hz.
- Need to support 2 default values and a RESET TO LAST LOADED VALUE reset option. - Works, 1st right click goes to preset, 2nd right click goes to default. It might be better to make it right click & right double click, waiting for feedback first.
- Hide not selected deprecated stuff - partially working!
- Move Copyright stuff etc. also to command line version (maybe just copy it?)

TODO:
- Continue with finding parameters to hide
- Add conditional hiding depending on other parameters (for example for whole screens)
- O skin


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:21 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9947
7.85 BETA005

Windows 32 bit:
Windows stand alone: http://www.stereotool.com/download/ster ... 85-005.exe
Winamp DSP: http://www.stereotool.com/download/dsp_ ... 85-005.exe
Windows VST 32 bit: http://www.stereotool.com/download/vst_ ... 85-005.dll

CHANGED:
I've been busy hiding a lot more deprecated features (if they are set to their default value). This should make the GUI a bit simpler. Stuff that's now hidden (still there and still functional if you really want to use it):
- "Bass AGC (Old)" panel
- "Classic Multiband Compressor" panel
- "Classic Singleband" panel
- "Pre-limiter" panel (in Advanced Clipper)
- "Leif's clipper efficiency modification" checkbox
- "Composite clipping Strictness (CPU)" checkbox
- Phase rotation: ""At start of processing" checkbox
- AGC "Compatibility & behavior" header
- All Singleband and Multiband "Compressor type" (Analog/Digital) pull-downs
- Multiband and Natural Dynamics "Compatibility mode (bad)" for Flat Frequency Response checkbox
- "Bass protection (Deprecated)" header in Advanced Clipper -> Bass
- "Highs gap protection: *" in Advanced Clipper -> Highs
- "Smooth slope" in Advanced Clipper -> Distortion
- "Upsampled highs clipping (useless)" in Advanced Clipper -> Distortion
- Stokkemask: "Force Stokkemask even if not using Composite Clipping (bad for audio)"
- BS412: ""De-basser non-ITU.1770 compatibility mode (bad)"


OLD CHANGES:
- Right clicking now restores default again, mid or double right clicking restores last loaded preset (or startup) value.
Bug: If you use FM and Normal output, with separately processed audio for streaming for Normal output, and for FM output enable pre-emphasis but *not* pre-emphasize output, then Normal output is not processed separately!
- What is the pink line in the BS412 display? Maybe remove it. http://i.imgur.com/70mWvqp.png -> Ah no, it's the adjustment of the compressor thresholds. Needs to be added to Help page.
- BS412 has VERY narrow jump on de-basser from 240 to 250 Hz. (Jump of multiple dB's). -> No, brown line jumps but actual output is smooth, so no problem.
- BS412 bass filter doesn't use ITU1770 as it should but some weird other shape that goes up to about 250 Hz.
- Need to support 2 default values and a RESET TO LAST LOADED VALUE reset option.
- Hide not selected deprecated stuff - partially working!
- Move Copyright stuff etc. also to command line version (maybe just copy it?)

TODO:
- Make scope skinnable
- Bug: i found one malfunction in the BS412 Section: If your switch off the FM Option and leave the BS412 Limiter in On-Position the Advanced Clipper only works in a reduced way: You can´t change the Clipper drive even if you pull the handle. The BS412 Limiter is greyed out instead so maybe someone doesn´t find the failure. If You switch the BS412 to off everything works fine again! Just a small detail, but maybe someone will have problems… -> I think I have fixed it (but there are a lot of different combinations of settings that can impact the result, I hope I haven't missed any). The next version shouldn't have this problem anymore, also, when BS412 is used I have now disabled the Advanced Clipper Drive slider.
- Try "True Bass" for highs -> Probably make a version where different modes (with/without filtering, with better HPF) are tested. Maybe also with multiple bands?? To reduce generated distortion.
- Continue with finding parameters to hide
- Add phase delay compensation
- O skin


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:31 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9947
If you see other things that should be deprecated please let me know. I went through the settings a few times, I think I have found all now.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:32 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:39 pm
Posts: 312
How does one switch hiding on or off?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 6:25 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9947
Quote:
How does one switch hiding on or off?
There's a setting in the main Configuration panel ("Show deprecated settings").

Also, if you already had the option enabled, or if it is enabled in a preset that you load, it will not be hidden.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 587 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 559 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited