All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2019 2:59 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3480
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:


We changed it to show actual declipper action instead of input and output level. So if the Declipper does nothing, it shows nothing now.
O, ok.
Can 150% quality be set separately on meters?
How do you mean "separately on meters"? The meters show what the processing is doing - so there's no separate generation of meter values.
Meters works smoother with 150% quality, it's really visible difference on high refresh rate monitors, so i was wondering is it possible to apply 150 Quality only on meters, not on processing?

_________________
control point


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:21 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9893
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:

O, ok.
Can 150% quality be set separately on meters?
How do you mean "separately on meters"? The meters show what the processing is doing - so there's no separate generation of meter values.
Meters works smoother with 150% quality, it's really visible difference on high refresh rate monitors, so i was wondering is it possible to apply 150 Quality only on meters, not on processing?
Ah, that. Yes that's true - at higher quality settings more intermediate values get generated. There might be some ways to "estimate" or interpolate the 100% values to get more output out of it, but it's not something that we can very easily change.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:57 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:25 am
Posts: 90
Quote:
As a reminder to myself, I'm putting the todo list here....
  • Add auto-phase-inversion with detection.
Thank you for this, Hans.

I asked about the idea last year & was shot down, as it was not seen as something that would be useful back then.

I see a lot of voices and some instruments, especially with the AM versions I run, where fixed polarity is not always optimum.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 9:13 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:19 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Netherlands
I'm having issue's with an Marian Trace Pro.

When i start ST, i am getting an error that relates to my driver. ( latest version installed )

When i reinstall ST it will work again, until i restart ST...the error returns.

With BBP One it works flawlessly


Attachments:
Knipsel.PNG
Knipsel.PNG [ 4.95 KiB | Viewed 1186 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3480
"Reduce bass for mids" it starts to detect from ~500Hz and fully from 650. Should be ~200Hz erlier.
Reason: We can set bass up to 400Hz and that's end-point, so 'reduce bass for mids' detection should start somewhere under that, ~350-400.
So currently anything from~350-550Hz is zero protected from bass.
Even better would be that 'that' detection follows bass clipper settings.

edit:
Probably easiest would be to add slider for mid freq detection so it can be easy adapted to bass clipper freq.

_________________
control point


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:27 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:53 am
Posts: 1
We are running this version for one week now. Unfortunatly we have some issues regarding the streaming output.
When we get this error notification the connection with our icecast server is lost. Processed audio from the normal output continues to work.
When stereotool is restarted, the icecast connection is restored.

Our setup: Windows 7 on an i3-2125 with 8GB ram. A trace Marian alpha card is used for audio.


Attachments:
2019-10-05 10_58_13-508318664.png
2019-10-05 10_58_13-508318664.png [ 8.13 KiB | Viewed 842 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:12 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:44 pm
Posts: 29
I'm not sure that this is quite a feature request, but rather a potential solution to a window rendering bug in some VST hosts. This is about some VST hosts causing the GUI contents to always use the default resolution of Stereo Tool in a container window that defaults to (or remembers previous setting of) a different resolution.

How about adding a switch that forces it to start up in Full Screen mode?

If it already is intended to have the behavior of remembering what your last option was, perhaps it needs to re-check the resolution then redraw the GUI accordingly to the size of the window container upon startup? Or maybe it needs to check again and do a full redraw when selecting something in the left menubar of modules?

Or a key combination to cause it to re-detect the window size and redraw?

I'm just too lazy to keep going back and clicking Full Screen Mode every time i open the gui window. 8-)

edit: It would also be cool to have a toggle for 1/4 height scopes.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:00 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9893
Full screen mode does not always work. If it did I would have turned it on, but I've asked multiple people to try it and I have received replies that it doesn't work at all... This whole issue is quite tricky.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:59 am 

Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 9:24 am
Posts: 1
When will Stereo Tool 9.36 BETA 001 be available? 😀


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Stereo Tool 9.35
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:46 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:39 pm
Posts: 309
Btw I'm currently checking my traffic and found that connections are made to 'msg.stereotool.com'. What's that for?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited