Stereo Tool

Feedback, questions, settings and more...
      Home         Download         Donate         Register         Forums         Help   
It is currently Sun May 20, 2018 5:40 pm

All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 620 posts ]  Go to page Previous 152 53 54 55 5662 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:42 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:31 pm
Posts: 21
Good morning to all,

Hans the French translation is available and if you wish, be integrated within the software itself instead of the old French translation.

Note: I have no feedback about my translation :roll: , but it is of good quality for those who are allergic to Shakespeare's language. :lol:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:55 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9208
Quote:
I checked and this leveling issue at the start of tracks is present in Stereo Tool 8.54 final as well!

It is NOT present in Stereo Tool 8.34 final!

Strange I never noticed this before from 8.54 onwards.

Settings file export for version 34 final -> User_Default_f34.sts
Settings file export for version 54 final -> User_Default_f54.sts

If you load the User_Default_f34.sts into the latest beta 61, the problem is not present!

From Beta 61, I exported the settings which were imported from 8.34 Final, and compared the differences. Here they are:

https://pastebin.com/QtwyBpLc


[The other issue with the settings changing in Audacity are present in both 8.54 final and 8.34 final. Still not sure if this is something that can or should be fixed by Stereo Tool or by Audacity. (I'm guessing Audacity, as Foobar + foo_vst 0.9.0.3 have no problem recalling Stereo Tool's state.)]
Do you also have a file that has a problem with this? I've tried with multiple tracks and if I restart the track after 10 seconds the level for the start is roughly the same.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:04 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9208
Quote:
I also noticed a bug in the VST version. Apparently, the zoom of the goniometer is not passed to the host. As soon as you open the plugin again, the zoom is reset. It's just a visual thing. With the waveform, saving the zoom already works. Perhaps this could then also be made available here.
Ow! Lol! I didn't even know that you could "zoom" it! Heh :) well I guess it makes sense, it's a waveform on its side and I reused the same code. I'm not sure how useful it it though?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:10 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 89
Quote:
Do you also have a file that has a problem with this? I've tried with multiple tracks and if I restart the track after 10 seconds the level for the start is roughly the same.
http://tommycatkins.com/2018/sample.mp3


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:11 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9208
Quote:
Quote:
Do you also have a file that has a problem with this? I've tried with multiple tracks and if I restart the track after 10 seconds the level for the start is roughly the same.
http://tommycatkins.com/2018/sample.mp3
Ah, sorry, I just found it in your other post (was just going through all the posts from the last 2 weeks). Testing it now!


Edit: Ok, problem reproduced. I also see now why this specific track is a problem: It looks like the further off the audio is from being flat, the more the level of Auto EQ (and probably also Bass EQ) drops. I tested with "normal" tracks and usually lost not much more than 1 dB or so. But with this track I'm seeing 14 dB with your preset.

The "simple" option would be to have Auto EQ start at a different level so it won't do so much directly after starting, but I kinda don't like that - any value would just be some random choice. So, I'll try if I can figure out how to solve the real issue: Auto EQ isn't supposed to affect the level in the first place.

Turning "Sudden jump protection" off helps a lot - but it needs to work with that enabled too. The fact that Low Level Boost doesn't immediately kick in is kinda normal - I don't think you want it to by default. Although we might need a setting for people who want to process classical music file based.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:41 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:46 pm
Posts: 207
Quote:
Quote:
I also noticed a bug in the VST version. Apparently, the zoom of the goniometer is not passed to the host. As soon as you open the plugin again, the zoom is reset. It's just a visual thing. With the waveform, saving the zoom already works. Perhaps this could then also be made available here.
Ow! Lol! I didn't even know that you could "zoom" it! Heh :) well I guess it makes sense, it's a waveform on its side and I reused the same code. I'm not sure how useful it it though?
So I would find it generally helpful to get a quick overview of the stereo image. From my point of view a phase meter would be more practical in this form, because it would make it much easier to get an overview of the erased frequencies.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:59 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 3229
important bugs and possible fixes/improvements:
- AGC sidechain PEQ cannot be adjusted in realtime - settings not updated, ST restart loads new settings tho. -done
- "Current AGC" is definitely not good. Release problem. Recommend to add knee (wich is bit odd) for test.
- "AGC Window" need to bee better. Those stuff with slower speeds inside window (not freeze), etc
- "ITU Bass and head" in AGC sidechain need to be updated and same as newer one in MB.
- "Allow L-R Asymemtry" and "Multipath Stereo" should be saved with clipper settings. -done
- Separate load for RDS settings. (killing when loading "FM" settings"
- Attack and Release Multiplier sliders does not follow "Max Attack" and "Max Release" settings.
- Hide from GUI bottom filters that are not used, Checkbox settings wich enables this.
- New bass clipper.. long explenation needed. + test new stuff in clipper on mids..
- New slider for "Phase Delay", moving whole already adjusted graph up/down. (or similar effect)
- Again..to try to move Linear Phase HPF before MB or AGC and if possible improve it. (some shaky fiiltering)
- ..

_________________
cafe


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:04 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 89
The Dequantizer module looks like it's another one affected by "first run syndrome," meaning you will get a different result if it is the first time Stereo Tool is being run in a DAW session. Once something like 30 seconds of audio has been processed through it, the result will be more intense. Unfortunately, it does not appear that "priming" will solve this (i.e., tacking 30 seconds of audio to the front of the track), as this appears to affect the entire track. In other words, a SEPARATE track at least 30 seconds long will have to be processed through Stereo Tool first, BEFORE processing the track you want the Dequantizer to affect, WITHOUT closing out of your DAW session or resetting Stereo Tool if batch processing (which isn't possible in hosts like foobar2000).

Image


To reproduce, open the following track in Audacity:

http://tommycatkins.com/2018/stereotool/sample_dqt.rar

Run only Dequantizer in Stereo Tool with the bottom two quality sliders maxed (other settings default). Save the track and take a spectrogram. Use IrfanView or an image editor to bump up the contrast if necessary. I used "Fakin' the Funk" to make the spectrograms, and used IfranView's "Image" -> "Enhance Colors..." -> Contrast: -77, Saturation: 167".

Now undo in Audacity, then re-run Stereo Tool with the same settings for Dequantizer. Again, save the track and take a spectrogram, and compare the two.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:57 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9208
Quote:
The Dequantizer module looks like it's another one affected by "first run syndrome," meaning you will get a different result if it is the first time Stereo Tool is being run in a DAW session. Once something like 30 seconds of audio has been processed through it, the result will be more intense. Unfortunately, it does not appear that "priming" will solve this (i.e., tacking 30 seconds of audio to the front of the track), as this appears to affect the entire track. In other words, a SEPARATE track at least 30 seconds long will have to be processed through Stereo Tool first, BEFORE processing the track you want the Dequantizer to affect, WITHOUT closing out of your DAW session or resetting Stereo Tool if batch processing (which isn't possible in hosts like foobar2000).

Image


To reproduce, open the following track in Audacity:

http://tommycatkins.com/2018/stereotool/sample_dqt.rar

Run only Dequantizer in Stereo Tool with the bottom two quality sliders maxed (other settings default). Save the track and take a spectrogram. Use IrfanView or an image editor to bump up the contrast if necessary. I used "Fakin' the Funk" to make the spectrograms, and used IfranView's "Image" -> "Enhance Colors..." -> Contrast: -77, Saturation: 167".

Now undo in Audacity, then re-run Stereo Tool with the same settings for Dequantizer. Again, save the track and take a spectrogram, and compare the two.
Hm... This actually makes very little sense. Dequantizer doesn't have a history.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 6:10 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9208
Quote:
Quote:
Do you also have a file that has a problem with this? I've tried with multiple tracks and if I restart the track after 10 seconds the level for the start is roughly the same.
http://tommycatkins.com/2018/sample.mp3
Woohoo! Just when I wanted to post the reply that this cannot be fixed... I figured out how to fix it :) Sudden Jump Protection in Auto EQ works a lot better than before now too - it does far less, which is good!

Will run a new build tonight.

This image shows your preset WITH AutoEQ and BassEQ on top, without at the bottom. No difference anymore :)
Attachment:
Top_With_Bottom_Without.png
Top_With_Bottom_Without.png [ 139.41 KiB | Viewed 217 times ]


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 620 posts ]  Go to page Previous 152 53 54 55 5662 Next

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited