All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 155 posts ]  Go to page Previous 112 13 14 15 16 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 4:43 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9525
Quote:
Nobody noticed that the documentation page is gone with the wind?
Should be fixed by the web developers tomorrow morning.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:28 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 106
Hi Hans, can you please consider this feature:
Quote:
Just one request.

Can you make RDS frequency adjustable?

Like Airomate software can adjust it?



And play RDS only on one channel as option?

Idea of this is that you can get RDS from *any* sound card this way.

It's dirty and bad way, but it's possible. And great for experimenting with a Pi3 device.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:22 pm
Posts: 173
Quote:
And great for experimenting with a Pi3 device.
There are various sound cards available for the Raspberry Pi that support 192kHz output. Most of them are not that expensive either. Have a look at the boards by HifiBerry, for example.

_________________
Software Engineer @ Thimeo Audio Technology B.V.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:57 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9525
Quote:
Hi Hans, can you please consider this feature:
Quote:
Just one request.

Can you make RDS frequency adjustable?

Like Airomate software can adjust it?



And play RDS only on one channel as option?

Idea of this is that you can get RDS from *any* sound card this way.

It's dirty and bad way, but it's possible. And great for experimenting with a Pi3 device.
How would you know that your frequency is set correctly? Both the pilot and RDS would need to move assuming that you want this to compensate for bad sound cards where the sample rate is too far off.

And what's the purpose of RDS on only one channel??


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:13 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 106
Quote:
Quote:
Hi Hans, can you please consider this feature:
Quote:
Just one request.

Can you make RDS frequency adjustable?

Like Airomate software can adjust it?



And play RDS only on one channel as option?

Idea of this is that you can get RDS from *any* sound card this way.

It's dirty and bad way, but it's possible. And great for experimenting with a Pi3 device.
How would you know that your frequency is set correctly? Both the pilot and RDS would need to move assuming that you want this to compensate for bad sound cards where the sample rate is too far off.

And what's the purpose of RDS on only one channel??
Well, it displays prerecorded RDS correctly even from mp3 file played from the crappiest mp3 player for 10 dollars with a primitive "car fm transmitter".

When it's played like that (19 khz on one channel no matter left or right) harmonics go all the way up to 38 and 57 khz where actual RDS is and it can be read in any receiver.

And it works. Even with most primitive devices.

So even an old Android phone can play this prerecorded mp3 file with RDS at 19 khz on one channel and play audio file at the same time, if audio levels are set correctly.

Or maybe an old netbook can run Airomate to generate the RDS on 19 khz and play the audio at the same time.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 11:29 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 102
I tried asking this in the "Other Questions" forum but I'm not sure if anyone is looking at it. :oops:

On Absolute Highs, what is 4x?

Image

I'm guessing 4x oversampling, but I could be wrong as there isn't a tool tip. ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:07 pm 

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 11:45 am
Posts: 27
Yes, you are right!
Attachment:
AH.png
AH.png [ 6.73 KiB | Viewed 2204 times ]
I think you have to increase your desktop resolution and / or the ST window size to see correctly the labels on the buttons.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 6:53 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 102
Quote:
Yes, you are right!

AH.png

I think you have to increase your desktop resolution and / or the ST window size to see correctly the labels on the buttons.
Lol how embarassing. :oops:

Thanks! :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:00 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:15 pm
Posts: 84
8.54 GUI not coming up in Debian 8, Jessie, Jack version. We are testing and performing distro-upgrades Wheezy to Jessie and 8.23 its GUI is performing 100% ok. Because we have settings for this one in Windows we did not test higher versions, if these exist.
Attachment:
Schermafdruk-1.png
Schermafdruk-1.png [ 220.16 KiB | Viewed 2025 times ]

_________________
https://dreamstream.mobi

Currently live processing ST 9.02 , testing upgrade to auto equalizer offline using slightly modified 3 FM settings Bojcha


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:15 pm
Posts: 84
Extra info on to 8.54 not showing : we upgraded to Debian 8, we use the mate-desktop-environment (I think this is also default these days?) 8.54 hanged in 100% CPU.

We tested on another system Ubuntu 17.1 (which is default Gnome install) , then the 8.54 GUI did show

We added the following to the Mate environment on Debian:
Code:
apt-get install gnome-core xorg gdm3


Now 8.54 no longer hangs and seems to process.

_________________
https://dreamstream.mobi

Currently live processing ST 9.02 , testing upgrade to auto equalizer offline using slightly modified 3 FM settings Bojcha


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 155 posts ]  Go to page Previous 112 13 14 15 16 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited