Stereo Tool

Feedback, questions, settings and more...
      Home         Download         Donate         Register         Forums         Help   
It is currently Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:20 am

All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 542 posts ]  Go to page Previous 151 52 53 54 55 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:14 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:39 pm
Posts: 267
@All Night

Two things I could think of:
  1. ST processes music in frames/chunks or whatever they're called. So when starting ST and music together the processing starts at the beginning of a frame. However when stopping the music and restart playing while ST is still running processing will begin somewhere within a frame.
  2. When starting ST it has some default values for the compressors gain reduction because it has no clue how loud the music will be when it starts playing. However when you played some music already and restart it from the beginning the compressors will (likely) start with the same reduction they had right before you restarted the music.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:50 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:46 pm
Posts: 203
I also noticed a bug in the VST version. Apparently, the zoom of the goniometer is not passed to the host. As soon as you open the plugin again, the zoom is reset. It's just a visual thing. With the waveform, saving the zoom already works. Perhaps this could then also be made available here.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:12 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 83
Quote:
@All Night

Two things I could think of:
  1. ST processes music in frames/chunks or whatever they're called. So when starting ST and music together the processing starts at the beginning of a frame. However when stopping the music and restart playing while ST is still running processing will begin somewhere within a frame.
  2. When starting ST it has some default values for the compressors gain reduction because it has no clue how loud the music will be when it starts playing. However when you played some music already and restart it from the beginning the compressors will (likely) start with the same reduction they had right before you restarted the music.
If that's the case, then this is a problem for people using Stereo Tool VST in a "batch" situation where it is called as a new instance for every track. (For example, Foobar's "Convert").

Surely there must be some way for the VST to "self prime" with white noise or test tones or something set to -11 or -12 db?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 3:13 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 83
I checked and this leveling issue at the start of tracks is present in Stereo Tool 8.54 final as well!

It is NOT present in Stereo Tool 8.34 final!

Strange I never noticed this before from 8.54 onwards.

Settings file export for version 34 final -> User_Default_f34.sts
Settings file export for version 54 final -> User_Default_f54.sts

If you load the User_Default_f34.sts into the latest beta 61, the problem is not present!

From Beta 61, I exported the settings which were imported from 8.34 Final, and compared the differences. Here they are:

https://pastebin.com/QtwyBpLc


[The other issue with the settings changing in Audacity are present in both 8.54 final and 8.34 final. Still not sure if this is something that can or should be fixed by Stereo Tool or by Audacity. (I'm guessing Audacity, as Foobar + foo_vst 0.9.0.3 have no problem recalling Stereo Tool's state.)]


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:09 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 83
I tried manually entering settings in Beta 61 to replicate the imported settings from 8.34, and was able to get the same result (no differences at start of track from first run of Stereo Tool).

Basically, the differences from User_Default_b61.sts are that both AutoEQ's are turned off, Low Level Boost is turned off, and Basstadizer is set to Legacy (i.e., Bass Boost instead of Basstadizer).

Turning on Basstadizer has no effect on the issue, so that should be eliminated.

Turning on Low Level Boost WITH or WITHOUT enabling Legacy mode results in the issue happening.

The issue also happens with ONE or BOTH of the AutoEQ's turned on, WITH or WITHOUT Legacy mode.

So this problem is tied to those three modules. If all three (AutoEQ, BassEQ, & Low Level Boost) are off, then the problem doesn't happen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:59 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 83
So what I am doing for now, and I guess will continue to do if this issue can't be fixed, is to use sox via batch file to append 30 seconds of "priming audio" at the beginning of tracks that I want to batch process with Stereo Tool. Then trim that off when done. A pain but if that's what it takes... :|


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:03 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:22 pm
Posts: 110
Quote:
So what I am doing for now, and I guess will continue to do if this issue can't be fixed, is to use sox via batch file to append 30 seconds of "priming audio" at the beginning of tracks that I want to batch process with Stereo Tool. Then trim that off when done. A pain but if that's what it takes... :|
Just FYI, Hans is on his way back from NAB and will probably take a few days off.

_________________
Software Engineer @ Thimeo Audio Technology B.V.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:50 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 9179
Yup, I've slept in the plane, but by the time I arrived at home last night I hadn't seen an actual bed in over 53 hours. So I'm taking 2 days off :) back on Wednesday.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:34 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:37 am
Posts: 133
Location: Napier, New Zealand
Quote:
Yup, I've slept in the plane, but by the time I arrived at home last night I hadn't seen an actual bed in over 53 hours. So I'm taking 2 days off :) back on Wednesday.
Hope NAB went great for you guys.

_________________
I just use ST Standalone to listen to Streaming music.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:51 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm
Posts: 83
Welcome back. :)

I re-ran a bunch of tracks that I processed previously through Stereo Tool with the same settings, except that ~30 seconds (1,360,000 samples) of "priming audio" was appended to the beginning of each track, then removed after processing through Stereo Tool.

While in some cases the differences are minimal, in other cases the audible changes are quite night and day.

Here's a MasVis analysis:

Image

The "not primed" tracks were from an older beta so some of the track differences past the first 20-25% are likely due to that (different peaks and such).

Sorry if I'm talking too much about this. Just want to give you as much info as I can. :ugeek:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 542 posts ]  Go to page Previous 151 52 53 54 55 Next

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited